Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 06:46 PM
chouchou's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 444
Default Internet freezes following connection/disconnection to BT?

Yup, as title says.
I recently got a new router and left the world of Telus wireless "gateways" and got myself an Asus WL-520GU flashed with Tomato

Every time i connect to BitTorrent, (i currently use uTorrent [but may change if i have to]) my internet would lock and i wouldn't be able to use msn/Firefox for about 10 minutes. However, my uTorrent download would continue fine.

I have QoS set up for uTorrent (which is set to listen at a specific port and uPnP disabled) having lower priority than port 80/1863 which are the ports for http:// and MSN, so this shouldn't be a problem.

After roughly 10 minutes my internet connection to firefox as well as WLM returns as normal - though slower (obviously due to the bandwidth taken up by BT)

When my BT download finishes, the internet would lock up once again to WLM and FireFox, and only after another 10 minutes would i be able to access it once again.

During this time, i also cannot access my router via 192.168.1.1. Any ideas?

I googled around a bit, and came up with a possible answer being that my computer fails to manage the influx of connections via uTorrent all of a sudden and it takes time for it to calm down? Awkwardly, though, i only have it set up at 80 max connections per torrent and 400 global, but i never have more than 1 torrent going anyways..

Thanks :)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 07:33 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,814

My System Specs

Default

Probably just overloading the router. Only real explanation IMO.

Do you cap your speeds in uTorrent? Your upload should be 80% or less than your maximum upload (use like SpeedTest.net or something to find it) to ensure your Internet browsing isn't heavily affected.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 07:49 PM
chouchou's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 444
Default

hmm... on speedtest i get about 1kbits per second... so i should have a up of roughly....... ~60 kbytes/s?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2009, 12:42 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

what level of internet are you running? Im running the 1.5mb and I get roughly 500kbits up so 1k seems good for the higher levels. I had this problem but im not sure if its the same as yours, I was running a linksys wireless adapter on a known working wireless network that for somereason would always shut down during certain actions while downloading BTs. After a ton of trail and error I found out it was the driver for the adapter, the adapter itself was getting overloaded when downloads finished and the next ones started. using older drivers from xp fixed it for me.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2009, 12:48 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

No point in allowing utorrent to rape your upload bandwidth its not going to really matter.

I have mine set as:

Upload Limit: 5.0kB/s
Upload Slots: 2
Connections (per torrent): 50
Connections (global): 75
Max Active Torrents: 10
Max Active Downloads: 5
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2009, 04:14 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,814

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
No point in allowing utorrent to rape your upload bandwidth its not going to really matter.

I have mine set as:

Upload Limit: 5.0kB/s
Upload Slots: 2
Connections (per torrent): 50
Connections (global): 75
Max Active Torrents: 10
Max Active Downloads: 5
You sir are a bad leecher.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2009, 04:15 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
You sir are a bad leecher.
Nope. My connection never sees more than 1.0kB/s so I don't bother putting it high.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2009, 08:38 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,814

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Nope. My connection never sees more than 1.0kB/s so I don't bother putting it high.
You on dial-up or something? Cause that's pretty damn slow.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memtest Freezes appplejack RAM 2 December 22, 2008 01:05 PM
Wireless connection problem. Brinnie Networking 3 March 21, 2008 04:00 AM
System freezes at post. DeVries CPU's and Motherboards 2 December 16, 2007 06:10 AM
8 pin or 4+4 pin CPU connection ? Unklmo CPU's and Motherboards 4 August 8, 2007 06:05 PM
BF2 refusing connection Jim Gaming 1 April 3, 2007 10:49 AM