Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 09:54 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default Any way to prove rogers wrong?

(the reason i made the techsavvy vs rogers thread)
Last thursday, I was surfin and then the rogers "you have reached 75%" thing popped up, and i said okay... I was utorrenting GRID which only had about ~15% left (out of about 6.14GB) .
Some info : i'm on the 60GB plan [5mb down/1mb up]
Next day , my dad tells me he got the "you have reached 100% on your cap" i tell him thats impossible because my torrent stopped dling at 2am and so it starts seeding...he told me this at 7PM on the friday.
My issue: How is it possible that I used up 15GB of bandwidth over lets sayyy [2am - 7pm = about 17hrs?] if nobody was home to download anything?

Is there any way to prove rogers wrong? or should I just try to argue?
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 09:57 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Which router do you have? I know that there are some that record your monthly traffic. You can possibly use that against them, I guess.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 09:58 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,987

My System Specs

Default

You would've used about 6.5GB of uploading for 17 hours... not quite 15 but close? What does utorrent say for total uploaded?
And that 75% notice was probably not TO THE MOMENT of your usage of 75%, so maybe you were closer to 85%....
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 10:01 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 439
Default

Since you reached your cap, you might as well just cough up the extra $25 and download all you want until your next billing cycle.


And I could have sworn I read somewhere that the warning doesn't pop up until 24 hours after you've hit it. (Keep in mind this is me pulling something out of my ass, so I have no source for it.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 01:42 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

well my utorrent was 75pointsomething% and i was surfing hwc forums at the same time =P that when it popped up.
and uploading 6.5? The dl finished around 2 am, and i shut it down in the morning which was around 8am, before i went to school.
as for router , i have this : Canada Computers - Networking > Wireless Routers : Linksys WRT54GL Wireless-G Broadband Router - Wireless router + 4-port switch - EN, Fast EN, 802.11b, 802.11g Linux Version.
the Linksys WRT54GL
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 04:42 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadence View Post
(the reason i made the techsavvy vs rogers thread)
Last thursday, I was surfin and then the rogers "you have reached 75%" thing popped up, and i said okay... I was utorrenting GRID which only had about ~15% left (out of about 6.14GB) .
Some info : i'm on the 60GB plan [5mb down/1mb up]
Next day , my dad tells me he got the "you have reached 100% on your cap" i tell him thats impossible because my torrent stopped dling at 2am and so it starts seeding...he told me this at 7PM on the friday.
My issue: How is it possible that I used up 15GB of bandwidth over lets sayyy [2am - 7pm = about 17hrs?] if nobody was home to download anything?

Is there any way to prove rogers wrong? or should I just try to argue?
Chances are they know whats gone thru the pipe.
Just get on the higher plan, you can do way better with it.
I went on that plan a couple years ago
Its cheaper really in the long run.
Teksavvy is DSL isn't it?
Don't thnk its as fast as cable. Generally.
I know one shouldn't generalize.
Thats why I went cable
DSL here stinks, in my specific area
Depends where you are really.
If in an area with DSL phone lines that are not upgraded then its just not as good.
Rogers came thru here about 4 years ago and redid this older area while the DSL provider did nothing and a known issue here.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9



Last edited by tyreman; March 21, 2009 at 04:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 08:12 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

dont trust those systems at all. I have never seen that bandwidth popup thing, but I did get a phone call at work from them telling me i was close to the cap... this was on the second billing day of the month, and I never even come close to my limit...
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 11:27 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

well yeah, only reason i'm trying to find a way to prove them wrong is because i KNOW i didnt use 15GB in less than 24 hours especially when nobody was home. and we all know that rogers are always trying to find ways to rip people off -_-
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 12:17 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

The systems used to tell how much you've used are terrible at best. They don't actually know to be honest. They also rarely charge if you go over; I've gone over many times and they've never charged me extra money. That being said; without taking it to court you can't prove them wrong, and that's not going to happen.

Also those messages are never accurate; they send them out almost willy nilly because I've received it two days into the month..
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 12:30 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North York, ON
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

Sign in and use the "View Internet Usage" for your daily up/down usage.
__________________
Desktop: Asus Maximus V Gene | 3570K @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 16GBXL 9-9-9-24 | Patriot PYRO SE 240GB SSD | Gigabyte 650ti Boost | Seasonic X-460FL 80PLUS Gold Modular Fanless Power Supply

http://feedback.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI...onthelam7&iid=
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=44147
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rogers VS TechSavvy Cadence Networking 22 March 24, 2009 01:17 PM
[FS] HTC Touch GSM (Rogers) Mike_E Buy/Sell & Trade 14 February 12, 2009 05:38 PM
Ted Rogers dies at 75. encorp Off Topic 7 December 2, 2008 07:23 PM
Rogers Bill Phobia Off Topic 1 September 29, 2008 09:12 PM
don't know what's wrong with me... Scratch Water Cooling 5 March 5, 2008 12:06 PM