Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 11:12 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by death_hawk View Post
Care to explain the ridiculous cost of bandwidth in Canada vs the US or Japan then?

Sure it costs a lot more to lay fiber between cities but that shouldn't explain why bandwidth is 20x more up here than in the US....

Hell I can get a server with 40MBit Internap cheaper than paying the GST on 40MBit bandwidth in Canada.... I wish I was kidding, but it's DAMN close. If you pay PST, it's actually cheaper.
If I had to guess it'd be the much lower population densities we've got in Canada when compared to most other places, along with the huge distances between population centers.

The monopoly on who installed the original backbone doesn't help much either, but then we didn't have to go through the ridiculous craptacular mess that the US market of smaller localized highspeed was providing 5 years ago. (I don't know how far back the dslreports forums go, but if they go back far enough, have a look at what kind of service most US customers were getting back in 2000 compared to what we were getting).

The only way out of this mess (monopoly) is for the smaller ISPs to band together to put in their own infrastructure.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 12:08 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
The only way out of this mess (monopoly) is for the smaller ISPs to band together to put in their own infrastructure.
Perhaps, thats one solution, and we'll see how it works out. I just don't like seeing Bell using its weight to push the little guys around and setting a precedent when it comes to net neutrality(I'm speaking of the throttling in this case) in this country.

Another solution would be to take control of the infrastructure back. The last mile infrastructure was paid for and built by our taxes, given to them(Bell) for almost free. They may be the gate keepers but that doesn't mean they deserve to be, but that's a WHOLE other issue and argument for another day.

Another thing I want to note is that Bell technically doesn't want to wholesale "their" lines in the first place, only reason they do is related to the above paragraph, they are forced to by the CRTC because they didn't build the infrastructure in the first place. I remember that Bell fought the government hard on the whole wholesale thing when it first happened.

Again, my personal opinion and thought does not change, Bell can burn.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!

Last edited by Chilly; March 21, 2009 at 12:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 08:41 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 982
Default

The other big difference between Canada and other countries has to do with Government subsidizing. I believe the Japanese government has put in billions of dollars into their infrastructure.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2009, 12:27 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Default

We use both:

1. corp rogers = unlimited dl but capped at 4mbs (420k) dl, i dont know why
2. resid rogers = 60gb transfer cap speed at 8mbs (890k) dl
3. teksavvy dls unlimted 4mbs (450k) dl

I just don't like rogers and the poor service. It used to be much faster and better (10+ years ago). Our residential service which is on the same street as the business service for some reason is faster which makes no sense.
- rogers is slow
- track usage and cap DL
- students using wireless at one site we received DL notice. no one appreciates them passing on our info to some shaddy company in the US to report them for DL
- the DNS in very slow and faulty. rogers just has terrible dns service (OPENDNS only works 50% of the time the rest of it defaults to rogers dns. probly router setup for 3rd line of dns in DD-WRT)
- notice torrents start off fast 100k then in 20 mins drop to 15k or less. So their filtering software catches it.


Teksvvy.
- I guess teksavvy uses bell to the POP
- i had hoped it would be faster generally dl are around 450k which is same as one of our rogers lines
- torrents it only allows 1 torrent at time at about 30k vs rogers 4 torrents at one max combined about 100k (all choices are slow). Same laptop on both networks is typicaly <30k for torrent). I guess this explains the rise in usenet and rapidshare.
-teksavvy support is excellent though the time we called they always answer and know what to do. Our rogers line went down 4 times last year and they didnt know squat or sent teks out again and again while you wait a day or two each time.
- all of these 3rd parties put demarcation point on the side of our house so we connected the tel wires ourselves. I imagine for bell phone line they will connect it the existing line instead.
- i went with teksavvy just bc i am sick of rogers and if there was another alternative i rather give them my money. Also the no DL cap was appealing. For the two months we have had them we are happy, so probably will transition over our corp line too. good luck.


btw i was curious is anyone used hydro's wifi network? i heard of this beanfield but that is just in the distillery district.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 04:14 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadence View Post
Alright. I live in north scarborough, (brimley and mcnicoll). Stay with Rogers? (using the 60GB bandwidth cap plan) or switch to TechSavvy? spend a bit more initally but save more eventually?

Try each service.
See whats best at your location
Though it can change......NObodies perfect.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 04:34 AM
bovine.baron's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 486

My System Specs

Default

A huge point in TekSavvy's favor is that they're pro-net neutrality and anti-throttling. The only ISP like that as far as I know. Bell's somewhat-not-entirely-legally throttled TekSavvy's lines or so I've heard though and I don't know what's going on with that...
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 05:34 AM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,729
Default

Cable is also slower then DSL.

That by itself would make anyone choose DSL over cable.

The more people on cable....the slower it gets. DSL does not have that limitation.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 06:26 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digikid View Post
Cable is also slower then DSL.

That by itself would make anyone choose DSL over cable.

The more people on cable....the slower it gets. DSL does not have that limitation.
I've only experienced the speed issue in Camp Borden and that was obviously caused by the shear density of connections (barracks w/ 16 people per unit 150+ units in tight quarters).

In my experience, cable tends to offer higher speed packages, and speed issues are localized.

I have, on the other hand, experienced extremely poor service with a DSL account with frequent drop-offs/disconnects (hourly), and wouldn't trade my cable for that nightmare again.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP

Last edited by sswilson; March 23, 2009 at 03:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 09:30 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
In my experience, cable tends to offer higher speed packages, and speed issues are localized.

I have, on the other hand, experienced extremely poor service with a DSL account with frequent drop-offs/disconnects (hourly), and wouldn't trade my cable for that nightmare again.
Agreed, I can easily max out my 15mbps connection from Cogeco 24/7 if I wanted to, I have no issue with speed. Any speed issues with cable are usually localized to poorly developed areas or high density areas. I would say 90% of the time/areas you can get better speeds and better service with cable over dsl.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 09:37 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

You know what I hate about Bell the most? Their entire network was built with taxpayers money.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rogers internet to up speeds? Cobrajr122 Off Topic 28 March 16, 2009 08:47 PM
[FS] HTC Touch GSM (Rogers) Mike_E Buy/Sell & Trade 14 February 12, 2009 05:38 PM
Ted Rogers dies at 75. encorp Off Topic 7 December 2, 2008 07:23 PM
Rogers Bill Phobia Off Topic 1 September 29, 2008 09:12 PM