Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 01:01 PM
punk_zappa's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yellowknife
Posts: 965
Default Folding bandwidth

How much bandwidth does Folding need? I have a bandwidth cap reason I am asking.

After installing Folding@Home, what's next? Any instructions out there for those who want to get their feet wet?

I've read somewhere that it actually doesn't take a whole lot of bandwidth even Folding 24/7 and I just want to verify this. I am curious about Folding though I cannot fold 24/7 like others.

Thanks.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 01:21 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 439
Default

It's basically squat.

You'll use more spending 15 minutes on Youtube
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 02:20 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Are you running satellite internet where you get throttled back after 425 MB per day? or is it just a pay per byte thing? I have to pay $30 per GB but I don't think folding takes up much bandwidth at all- I used to do it a bit on dialup but I'm not sure exactly how big the transfers are per day.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 02:33 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

im pretty sure you can choose what worksizes you want, i saw an option about it in setup anyways. There was below 5mb, 5-10mb, and over 10mb. Obviously the bigger ones will take longer to complete but im not sure how long it takes for each size as thatll also depend on your hardware.
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 03:17 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by death_hawk View Post
It's basically squat.

You'll use more spending 15 minutes on Youtube
This. Frankly both folding and crunching use hardly any data, it should hardly make a blip on your ISP's radar.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 10:05 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default

Um, where exactly can you download F@H? Besides my PS3, I want to be able to do it on my PC too. I did some minor googling but found nothing. Maybe it's just not my day for searches.
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 10:10 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Gruntsworthy View Post
Um, where exactly can you download F@H? Besides my PS3, I want to be able to do it on my PC too. I did some minor googling but found nothing. Maybe it's just not my day for searches.
Here you go; Folding@home - DownloadWinOther
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 10:11 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default

Main page:

Folding@home - Download the Folding@home software application

High performance client (GPU client/ SMP client)

Folding@home - DownloadWinOther

EDIT: I got beat!
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 10:11 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,076

My System Specs

Default

Folding@home - Main
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 10:12 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default

LOL !! We're too helpful
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absolute best Folding GPU for Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 February 14, 2012 09:54 AM
bandwidth caps :( belgolas Off Topic 23 December 7, 2008 12:49 AM
Bell Sued for Throttling Bandwidth misterlarry Off Topic 14 June 18, 2008 07:39 PM
GTX 280 Now Folding for HCF SKYMTL HardwareCanucks F@H Team 26 June 17, 2008 01:23 PM
Internet bandwidth useage. -Questions NuxTux Networking 7 March 15, 2008 12:14 PM