Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2009, 09:06 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default Slow internet on one pc

Hello all, I've had this problem for a few days now: my internet is really slow on my normal desktop, but is fine from my brothers and my laptop. Any ideas? My pc has priority over the other ones, so its not like the others are stealing the bandwidth. I've never had a problem with them stealing bandwidth before, even when my brother was downloading at 1mb/s..
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 08:09 AM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,343

My System Specs

Default

I've had the same problem since last week, are you on Shaw? Seems like it happened right after their free speed increase. One computer is getting 7.5Mbs, the other is getting 2.5Mbs.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 09:23 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

I would try a different cable first of all.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 10:10 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,307

My System Specs

Default

also make sure that your brother isn't downloading huge files. one other thing is have you patched the number of connections ( vista) from 10 to more connections? here is a link to a website that shows you how to patch the connection from ten to ( I think) 255 Download Vista tcpip.sys and UAC Auto Patcher to Increase TCP Connection Limit My Digital Life
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 11:17 AM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default

Yes i'm on shaw. I wonder If that's it. I'm going to switch the Cables like you suggested bend_over, and am going to put it into another port on my router to see if that works. I'll check the other suggestion when I get home shadow. I'm in class posting on my phone right now, so I can't check.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 11:59 AM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,343

My System Specs

Default

The strange thing is i've changed nothing in over a year and no one else uses the other computer. I just find it to be a strange coincidence that this happens right after the "free" speed increase.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 12:11 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,307

My System Specs

Default

if your using wireless make sure know has hacked/tapped into it like a neighbor or something like that.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 09:38 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

YouTube - Series of Tubes Music Video

This might help =P
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will PCI-E 4x Slow down my 4870? arekieh Video Cards 7 November 22, 2008 03:07 PM
Slow development of a new system gsp5322 New Builds 10 August 14, 2008 05:01 PM
Slow internet and blue screen yycraven Troubleshooting 14 August 5, 2008 11:30 PM
US kept in slow broadband lane magictorch Press Releases & Tech News 2 April 13, 2008 06:01 AM
Slow server? 3.0charlie Suggestions & Feedback 3 September 11, 2007 05:49 PM