Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 07:46 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 29
Default Half-Open TCP Connection



Does anybody know how to fix this problem. I was reading that there is a patch but i only can find one for XP. I am using Vista ultimate 64-bit

Thanks
Scott
__________________
Main -> Running Windows 7 Pro
CoolerMaster Cosmos S | Asus P5Q-E | Intel Q6600 | VisionTek 4870 | Mushkin Redline (4GB)

Secondary -> Running Mac OS X Snow Leopard
NZXT Hush | Asus P5K | Intel E6750 | Nvidia 8800GT | Mushkin HP2 (2GB)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 10:14 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

I don't know if such a patch exists for Vista x64. I'd imagine not due to all the driver signing and stuff Vista x64 requires.

However I never really found that did anything for speeds.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 01:09 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyScott View Post


Does anybody know how to fix this problem. I was reading that there is a patch but i only can find one for XP. I am using Vista ultimate 64-bit

Thanks
Scott
Don't use Bitcomet.

Use uTorrent its much better and much more reliable.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 02:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 29
Default

Yeah i have used both bit comet and utorrent and i find them to be about the same. Is there any settings that i should change in utorrent of just leave it default?

Cheers.
__________________
Main -> Running Windows 7 Pro
CoolerMaster Cosmos S | Asus P5Q-E | Intel Q6600 | VisionTek 4870 | Mushkin Redline (4GB)

Secondary -> Running Mac OS X Snow Leopard
NZXT Hush | Asus P5K | Intel E6750 | Nvidia 8800GT | Mushkin HP2 (2GB)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 02:17 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyScott View Post
Yeah i have used both bit comet and utorrent and i find them to be about the same. Is there any settings that i should change in utorrent of just leave it default?

Cheers.
Nope.

Just use uTorrent and call it a day.

Any software like that which has popups like that is asking for trouble.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 02:55 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,509
Default

Actually , I'd bet that warning is there because of either a firewall or a router blocking ports.

You may need to open the incoming ports for bitcomet in your router or firewall.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 02:58 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrainEater View Post
Actually , I'd bet that warning is there because of either a firewall or a router blocking ports.

You may need to open the incoming ports for bitcomet in your router or firewall.

The warning is there because Microsoft implemented a "stall" if you wish into the tcp/ip headers so that only so much data could come through or out to prevent the spreading of worms or viruses.

It doesn't harm anything in any way.. its just torrents use a insane amount of them and sometimes a OS will complain.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD4670 Power requiremen / connection? Technik Video Cards 11 December 26, 2008 05:57 PM
Wireless connection problem. Brinnie Networking 3 March 21, 2008 04:00 AM
Router loosing Network connection? 3.0charlie Networking 1 October 9, 2007 07:07 AM
8 pin or 4+4 pin CPU connection ? Unklmo CPU's and Motherboards 4 August 8, 2007 06:05 PM
BF2 refusing connection Jim Gaming 1 April 3, 2007 10:49 AM