Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2008, 01:27 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Red Deer, Alberta
Posts: 40

My System Specs

Default Dial Up

Okay before you all patronize me about still being on dial up keep in mind that I am right along the border in manitoba so there is verry little chance of high speed.

I run dial up and have 2 PC's and a Mac, what I am doing right now Is I have all my computers plugged into a 24 D-Link switch that then plugs into the router, I have one laptop that is dedicated to serving up a dial up connection to the rest of the computers on the network including anything connected via wireless.

What I would like is a linux/Unix based way of doing this sharing so that the laptop I have serving the connection doesn't get viruses and serve them to the other PC's on the network.

Any suggestion/ideas are taken in.
__________________
|ECS Q35T AM Motherboard
|Intel Core 2 Duo 2.60GHz
|4GB GEIL RAM
|~2.5TB HDD's
|Thermaltake V3
|Thermaltake 430W PSU
|Radeon Sapphire 4650 1GB DDR2
Heatware Record | Ebay Record
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2008, 01:42 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

Just install a anti-virus on the laptop.

Your behind a router and a switch and dial-up.. you won't have much to worry about.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2008, 10:21 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,732

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elite View Post
Okay before you all patronize me about still being on dial up keep in mind that I am right along the border in manitoba so there is verry little chance of high speed.
Don't feel bad, I am on dialup as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2008, 04:53 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

Lots of folks still use dial-up and even have both hi-speed and dial-up accounts.

This can be done using a basic linux distro if you want to continue to use the laptop as a gateway. But there might be an easier and cheaper way that might free up your laptop. If you can find a Multitech home router or a USRobotics 8000 series home router; they had a serial port backup for the WAN port that permitteed them to use an external modem for dial-up. The USR should be available on e-Bay fairly cheaply. The Multitech I think may still be in production. I do know some Netgear and Zyxel routers still have serial port fallback but that's a more expensive solution.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2009, 10:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
Default

Don't worry man, this is canada, a lot of people still use dial-up (me included).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes