Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 29, 2008, 04:50 PM
MVP

Default Wireless Router

I'm new to setting up wireless router(s). I was wondering, is it possible to set it up so that no one can steal the signal and leech off the bandwidth?
Old December 29, 2008, 05:04 PM
Top Prospect

You need to enable WPA encryption and use a strong (more than a few numbers & letters) key. Make sure you change the default admin username and password. Once setup, you can disable broadcasting, as your unit knows to communicate with the router. Hope that helps.
Old December 29, 2008, 05:05 PM
F@H

My System Specs

Yep, 3 or 4 things in fact........ :)

1/ Set the highest possible security (WEP etc.......)
2/ Set it up to only accept the NIC addys you input (Usually called MAC filtering or something like that)
3/ Turn off SSID broadcasting once all of your personal computers have properly connected
4/ (most important) Change the default username & password for router access

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Old December 29, 2008, 05:18 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Yeah, I personally use the MAC filtering and disable SSID broadcast, because my 360 doesn't play well with my router when there's WEP or WPA enabled. Changing the password is also a biggie. I think I'm pretty safe without the encryption though, hopefully.
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Old December 29, 2008, 05:30 PM
MVP