Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2008, 04:50 PM
no_pulse's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 390
Default Wireless Router

I'm new to setting up wireless router(s). I was wondering, is it possible to set it up so that no one can steal the signal and leech off the bandwidth?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2008, 05:04 PM
mklym's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central Alberta
Posts: 239
Default

You need to enable WPA encryption and use a strong (more than a few numbers & letters) key. Make sure you change the default admin username and password. Once setup, you can disable broadcasting, as your unit knows to communicate with the router. Hope that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2008, 05:05 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,782

My System Specs

Default

Yep, 3 or 4 things in fact........ :)

1/ Set the highest possible security (WEP etc.......)
2/ Set it up to only accept the NIC addys you input (Usually called MAC filtering or something like that)
3/ Turn off SSID broadcasting once all of your personal computers have properly connected
4/ (most important) Change the default username & password for router access
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2008, 05:18 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,785

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, I personally use the MAC filtering and disable SSID broadcast, because my 360 doesn't play well with my router when there's WEP or WPA enabled. Changing the password is also a biggie. I think I'm pretty safe without the encryption though, hopefully.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2008, 05:30 PM
no_pulse's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 390
Default

Thanks for the help guys :) I live my sister and her family, and her husband (my brother-in-law) bought a Berkin Wireless N router so he can use his laptop anywhere in the house. Can someone still steal your signal through the wireless router if you're hooked up to the LAN ports on the wireless router? Or can they only steal signals from computers using the wifi?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2008, 05:37 PM
mklym's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central Alberta
Posts: 239
Default

As long as the wireless access point is broadcasting, yes. Even if the computers are wired to the router.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2008, 05:39 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,782

My System Specs

Default

If it's set up to work wirelessly, and you haven't blocked unauthorized access they can not only steal bandwidth using wifi, they can also fairly easily gain access to the other computers on your network.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2008, 03:06 PM
no_pulse's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 390
Default

What a pain in the ass lol. First after resetting my admin password, it wouldn't accept my new one. Kept saying inccorect password lol. After enabling WAP2, lost connection with both wireless laptop and my desktop pc. Same thing when I enabled MAC filtering lol. Then suddently everything seemed to work fine. I could access the net with the wireless laptop and desktop pc. BUt now I've run into a problem again, after turning off SSID my laptop doesn't seem to want to find the router. Or maybe its just me. I'm a noob when it comes to routers and especially wireless ones.

Does it matter what you name your SSID? I have it named the same as my desktop PC
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2008, 03:12 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Make sure your lappy wireless settings are configured to connect even though it is not broadcasting.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2008, 03:57 PM
no_pulse's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Make sure your lappy wireless settings are configured to connect even though it is not broadcasting.
I think that did it :) Thank you. It seems to take the lappy a few minutes to find the wireless network. Dunno if thats normal, even though the router is right next to it.

I have a couple of additional questions. Do I need to setup Mac Address Control, even though MAC Filtering is on? It says that Mac Address Control is the ability to set up a list of clients that you want to allow or deny access to the wireless network.

Also for WPA security, is that only setup for wireless devices that actually connect wirelessly to the router like the laptop? In other words I can't setup WPA for my desktop unless I have a wireless lan card correct?

Hopefully I set things up properly. On the settings screen it lists the following:

Firewall Settings Enabled
Security WPA-Personal ( PSK )
Data Encryption AES
UPnP Enabled
Remote Management Disabled
WPS Enabled

Are there any web sites or tools to test the security of your wireless router?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless router for work SugarJ Networking 4 December 4, 2008 08:18 PM
Question on wireless router tao5269 Networking 19 September 19, 2008 02:24 PM
router/wireless problems Infiniti Troubleshooting 2 February 19, 2008 01:12 PM
Wireless router, G vs. N Matty D Networking 5 January 9, 2008 11:01 PM
Wireless Router Recommendations? ScytheNoire Networking 14 December 18, 2007 06:57 AM