Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2008, 03:24 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,639

My System Specs

Default

How is your MAC filtering currently configured? It sounds to me like you've got it turned on, but haven't told it what you want it to do.

You'll want to take down the MAC addresses of your wireless cards (the router will tell you what devices have recently connected) and then tell the router to "deny" all addresses but those.

WPA security is only for wireless devices. Your wired devices don't use it.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2008, 03:45 PM
no_pulse's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 389
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
How is your MAC filtering currently configured? It sounds to me like you've got it turned on, but haven't told it what you want it to do.
I have Enable MAC Address Filtering checked and I put that MAC addresses of each of the computers NIC's. Found out that the MAC address control is for only for wireless computers, so I put the MAC address of the laptop in there as well.

Are there tools or web sites that can test the security of your router?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2008, 06:23 PM
no_pulse's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 389
Default

My brother-in-law wants to connect his Ipod Touch to the wireless network. How would I go about doing that? How do I get the MAC address (if there is one) for the Ipod touch?

Edit: n/m figured it out

Those Ipod touches are pretty sweet. Might have to get me one of those!

Last edited by no_pulse; December 30, 2008 at 07:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2009, 10:11 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 38
Default

FYI, MAC Filtering is useless.
If I crack the encryption on your network I can easily sniff the MAC address out of the air with it and I can clone it in a second.
__________________
__________________
CPU: E8600 (3.33 GHz)
MOTHERBOARD: ASUS Maximus Extreme
VIDEO:
ASUS Radeon 4870X2 (2 x 750 MHz, 2 x 1GB DDR5)
MEMORY: 8GB RAM (4 x 2 GB DDR3-1333MHz 7-7-7-20)
DISK: Seagate Barracuda 1TB (2 x 500GB)
WATER COOLING: Tt Bigwater 780e for CPU
WATER COOLING: Tt Bigwater 760i for GPU
WATER BLOCK CPU: Tt LGA775 Copper Block (3/8" fittings)
WATER BLOCK GPU: Danger Den 4870X2 Copper Block (1/2" fittings)
WATER BLOCK CHIPSET: ASUS Onboard Copper Block
OS: VISTA 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2009, 10:41 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 439
Default

Oh and WPA is also crackable. It's harder to crack, but still doable.

And chaning a MAC is easier than changing your underwear, so MAC filtering is useless.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless router for work SugarJ Networking 4 December 4, 2008 07:18 PM
Question on wireless router tao5269 Networking 19 September 19, 2008 01:24 PM
router/wireless problems Infiniti Troubleshooting 2 February 19, 2008 12:12 PM
Wireless router, G vs. N Matty D Networking 5 January 9, 2008 10:01 PM
Wireless Router Recommendations? ScytheNoire Networking 14 December 18, 2007 05:57 AM