Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 07:52 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default NIC and Router configuration for gaming.

I'm looking to configure my router and my onboard NIC for as much performance as possible (if any?) and I'm looking for some tips on what to change in my OS and on my router to make sure they are not bottlenecking anywhere.

Anyone who knows more about this have any ideas?



:)
Merry Christmas!
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 09:08 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Don't need to do anything.

Only time you need to change anything is for incoming not outgoing.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 09:41 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Only thing that would be of any use is enabling "Jumbo Frames" if your NIC and Router support it. Even then it will only help in the performance of transferring large files over the LAN.

What router do you have/use anyhow?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 10:33 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Linksys WRT54G2 v1, it's a sleek compact little router, not any of those "uber gaming router" I don't know what they'd really offer to be honest haha.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would this audio configuration work? Ironmonk Audio 1 December 12, 2008 11:15 AM
Is this a safe configuration for my pump and HDD? Mibs Water Cooling 5 July 11, 2008 01:01 PM
best ram configuration - extra2g or dual channel 2x1g ccm001 RAM 10 March 25, 2008 08:58 PM
Best loop configuration? Cptn Vortex Water Cooling 21 December 8, 2007 11:53 AM
Need Help With This Configuration Rapid-X CPU's and Motherboards 10 May 31, 2007 05:11 AM