Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 11:38 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default BEST ISP ???

Hi guys, im in Toronto.
I was wondering what you guys think of best ISP, cause we all know Rogers internet is garbage. Bell? i heard some good and bad.....what do you guys think???
let me know! thanks
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 12:08 PM
Mark's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bolton, Ontario
Posts: 859
Default

Teksavvy

TekSavvy Solutions Inc
__________________



CHEERS
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 12:09 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

TekSavvy with a MultiLink PPP connection.

No throttle and LOTS of bandwidth. Your gonna need to get a router that supports Tomato for MLPPP if you want to get around throttling (this is fully supported by TekSavvy, long story short, the throttling isn't done by them).

TekSavvy Solutions Inc
Tomato/MLPPP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 12:13 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rocky Mountain House
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

3rd vote for Teksavvy - great prices, good speed & LOCAL tech's who know what they're talking about
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 02:03 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

any sugggestions on which i should get? dry-dsl, high-speed dsl, etc. do i need static ip? thats just an ever changing ip right?
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 02:16 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadence View Post
any sugggestions on which i should get? dry-dsl, high-speed dsl, etc. do i need static ip? thats just an ever changing ip right?
Dry loop is a dsl line with no phone line (though it has dialtone from Bell resellers so you can dial 310 numbers and 911). Static IP is a IP that never changes.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 02:25 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

okay, well....what i need is basically, faster or as fast as Rogers Express/Bell Express (5mb/s) . lots (or unlimited bandwidth). phone lines? can't i just use another service provider for phone? can't it be seperate? I'll be downloading torrents, gaming, surfing, loading videos....mostly what any of you probably do on the internet ;) haha
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 02:27 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

how do you calculate the speeds that they advertise on their sites? like 5m/800k?..is that....download and upload rate? Bell 10 does 10mb download speed.
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 05:15 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

ok ok, this should help you.

Dry-loop - basically it's a dsl service on a phone line with no land line service. keep in mind that if you go this router budget in a band rate normally between 7-10 bucks.

Wet-loop - this is phone line that has a land line service. There is no additinal fee or band rate since there is already an active service on the line.

Now onto the more fun stuff. However this is how i understand it also to my knowledge teksavvy is one of the only canadian dsl providers that has mlppp enabled on their routers.

if you want to match or beat rogers/bell sympatico you would first need 2x dsl lines from teksavvy.

What you need.

2x Active DSL Lines from teksavvy wet/dry or a combo it doesn't matter.
2x DSL modem (ie: Thomson Speedtouch 516)
1x Linksys 54GL
1x Tomato/MLPPP from fixppp.org

First once you have verified the modems are properly configured you will need to get DMT and run it to check the line speeds. MLPPP will match to the slowest connection so if you have a 5 and 3mb connection the bonded speed will only be 6mb not 10. If you have a lower profile try bugging teksavvy to get bell to bump the profile up to the 5mp profile. Once you have this working and the speed profiles match you can proceed to the next step.

For ontario i believe you need to set your modem in BRIDGED mode and set the vci/vpi to 0.36.

first flash your linksys router with the tomato/mlppp firmware. next connection one lan connection from the first modem to the wan port on router and the second modem connect it to a free port on the lan switch on the router.

login to the router. under the network settings section there is a drop down box called Multi-link PPP select the multiple links option. Fill in the other important information such as username and password. and hit save. that should be it. on the main overview page it will display how many links are active.

also one word of note. if you bought 2 premium lines instead of one premium and on unlimited then you will need to call teksavvy and get them to combine the data caps of the 2 accounts into one so you have 400GB of data instead of 200GB per account.

also i have seen some people bond up to 6 lines for an ludicrous amount bandwidth.

Then test out your new internet connection by using either a speedtest or download the latest nvidia drivers which is a more real world test IMHO.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 05:40 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

thanks man, but if they use phone line, does that mean i cant use the phone? im running rogers home phone right now and i tihnk that uses cable for phone or something ?
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes