Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 08:15 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,835

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadence View Post
thanks man, but if they use phone line, does that mean i cant use the phone? im running rogers home phone right now and i tihnk that uses cable for phone or something ?
That means you need Dry-Loop DSL since you have no service on your POTS (plain old telephone system) line. And as mentioned before, you'll need 2 TekSavvy accounts to match Bell/Rogers highest speeds and I'm thinking you're probably going to need a 2nd phone line installed too.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 08:48 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,771

My System Specs

Default

DSL is crap compared to cable internet. Cogeco kicks both Bell and Rogers straight in the nuts.
__________________
Driving sim: MSI 970 Gaming/FX6300/16GB Corsair DDR3/ASUS CU II R9 290X 4GB/128GB SSD+750GB HDD
Daily: Intel DQ67SW/i7 2600/8GB DDR3/WD 150GB VR+2TB HDD/CU II R9 270 2GB/Xonar D1
HTPC: Dell 960 SFF Q9550/Corsair 8GB/X4500HD/128GB SSD

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 09:53 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 401
Default

can anyone verify that? haha
__________________
CPU:Intel i5 6600k - Corsair H110
GPU:EVGA GTX980Ti FTW Edition
HDD:250GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, 3TB WD Black
MOBO:Asus Z-170 Deluxe
RAM:G.Skill Ripjaws V F4 2800mhz 16GB
PSU:Silverstone 950W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 10:12 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lcdguy View Post
For ontario i believe you need to set your modem in BRIDGED mode and set the vci/vpi to 0.36.
its 0.35 for Bell resellers.
__________________
My Heatware![/SIZE][/FONT] | Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 10:14 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadence View Post
can anyone verify that? haha
Its a matter of opinion. I don't like cable because when its broke, its broke, when its fixed its fixed. For DSL lots can be done to fix broken DSL lines.

I work for an ISP in Ontario and Quebec (I haven't recommended them only because I don't want to sound biased) and DSL runs quite good with little problem.
__________________
My Heatware![/SIZE][/FONT] | Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2008, 05:23 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,054
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheator View Post
its 0.35 for Bell resellers.
thanks i wasn't sure on that one.

The other major boost you get with bonding versus buying say a big rogers or cogeco pipe is your upload also increases. 2 x5 meg dsl services get bonded into a 10mb/1.6mb connection :)
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2008, 05:30 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
DSL is crap compared to cable internet. Cogeco kicks both Bell and Rogers straight in the nuts.
Its a matter of opinion, and it really depends on what your doing with it. For me Cogeco rocks my world, but it does have fairly low bandwidth caps which can cause issues. But if comparing ONLY the major 3, then yes, Cogeco kicks Bell and Rogers flat on their asses.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadence View Post
can anyone verify that? haha
I still recommend TekSavvy w/MLPPP in Toronto. I can only imagine how congested the nodes on a cable based infrastructure would be in a city like TO.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes