Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2008, 07:35 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default File Sharing slow when MSN open

Well I've figured out why my network transfers are slow on my Gigabit network...

Basically I'm transferring files from my "server" running Server 2003 Enterprise R2 SP2 to my Vista Ultimate x64 machine over my Gigabit network (both PCs have gigabit NICs and all).

Before I open Live Messenger, I can get 40-50MB/s, but as soon as I open Live Messenger, I can watch the speed drop quickly until it bottoms out at like 10MB/s. As soon as I close WLM, the speed beings increases again.

I've tried disabling QOS and IPv6 on my network connection in Vista along with AutoTuning and Receive Side Scaling via netsh. None of that had any effect.

Then I thought maybe it was just WLM so I tried Pidgin and the same thing happens...

So anybody else with this issue or knows of a fix?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2008, 11:26 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Thats odd... its possible its one of those built in QoS things in Vista, thats meant to give you a good 'media' experience and prioritize things like Music and Video, and will slow down your connection to do so.

What SP are you running?
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2008, 11:36 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 608
Default

This is a little off topic, but which gigabit switch are you using? I need another smallish 5-8 port one, too many lan segments @ home.
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2008, 02:02 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheator View Post
Thats odd... its possible its one of those built in QoS things in Vista, thats meant to give you a good 'media' experience and prioritize things like Music and Video, and will slow down your connection to do so.

What SP are you running?
Vista SP1? Not really any other choice...

I tried disabling QoS and IPv6 which had no effect. Also disabled all that autotuning BS too without any luck. Really don't know why it does it. In Windows 7 x64 it was fine.

Vista is all up-to-date, clean install actually, latest Marvell drivers and all. Even with the default Windows drivers it does it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by misterd View Post
This is a little off topic, but which gigabit switch are you using? I need another smallish 5-8 port one, too many lan segments @ home.
Hehe, I have many

My Network:
ST516 (modem) -> D-Link DGL-4300 -> D-Link DGS-1008D + Some Netgear Gigabit Switch
Off the Netgear is a D-Link DI-624 acting as an access point only.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2008, 08:52 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Winterpeg, MB
Posts: 187
Default

NCIX.com - Buy Netgear Prosafe GS108NA 8 Port Gigabit Desktop Network Switch 10/100/1000 - GS108NA In Canada.
Take a look at the switch, though stock is somewhat unreliable.
Sorry OP, but I don't have a answer to your problem.
James
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes