Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 07:20 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

Quote:
DPI is effective against this. All it has to do is recognize the signature of a file and bam, it's throttled.
What signature? Using a VPN, SSH or SSL tunnel encrypts the packet data contents so that they appear as just random data. There is no "signature" to get. If they are throttling encrypted packets then they are throtttling them because they're encrypted, not because they can read the contents.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.

Last edited by NyteOwl; October 7, 2008 at 07:26 PM. Reason: Correcting typo
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 07:24 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NyteOwl View Post
What signature? Using a VPN or SSH tunnel encrypts the packet data contents so that they appear as just random data. There is no "signature" to get. If they are throttling encrypted packets then they are throtttling them because they're encrypted, not because they can read the contents.
They can't read the contents. They read the signature that shows that they're encrypted, and thats HOW they throttle encrypted traffic. Thats how the DPI boxes work, by signatures.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 07:31 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

In other words they throttle anything they can't read in plaintext. Then they are throttling more than just torrent traffic (do they throttle https/SSL connections ?). I personally would be filing complaints with both they, the CRTC, the Consumer Bureau and the Privacy Commissioner. Companies do this sh*te because people just lean back and let them get away with it without fighting back. Let their business customers discover they throttle VPN's and see what happens.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 07:35 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NyteOwl View Post
In other words they throttle anything they can't read in plaintext. Then they are throttling more than just torrent traffic (do they throttle https/SSL connections ?). I personally would be filing complaints with both they, the CRTC, the Consumer Bureau and the Privacy Commissioner. Companies do this sh*te because people just lean back and let them get away with it without fighting back. Let their business customers discover they throttle VPN's and see what happens.
This is bell we're talking about right? Cause rogers does throttle secure connections.

Bell says thy leave VPN alone (they can determine the difference signatures of different encryptions) but I've had some VPN throttles in the past, infact while I was in talks with Bell about an issue I can't speak of here.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2008, 08:51 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Well I ended up going with Rogers since codeco isn't offered in my area.. ah well.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes