Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 01:50 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

SKY I'll get home in the evening, I'll look for it and PM you as soon as possible, also unfortunately I migth have the box, but I have lots of boxes lol, I'll send it to ya, really, i'm serious.. :P
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 02:14 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rocky Mountain House
Posts: 837

My System Specs

Default

I'm with Teksavvy and am using the speedtouch 516 - works great for me.

I referred one of our guys at work to TS as well and he bought his 516 from DirectCanada last week for $50 or so
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 02:18 PM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 777

My System Specs

Default

Teksavvy here in Aylmer Qc for a year now and it'S been fine. Running a 516 + WRT54GS with TOMATO for MLPPP and bypassing that dumbass throttling.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 02:52 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 337
Default

Hey SKY I would like to know what speed you get as well.

I called up Teksavvy while curious about their service and the lady on the phone said that I could use any of the models used by them (they don't use a custom firmware) and I could buy it else where (NCIX) for about half the price.

Also from what I have heard it is generally a bad idea to mix the modem and router into one unit. your better off buying a modem and a router separately.


And again let me know the speeds...I would definatley switch if I got some good solid numbers from them for the Montreal area
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 02:55 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,836
Default

Actually, the best way I have found to avoid throttling is to download from 1AM to 10AM Sunday mornings. I know, really odd but I get full speed only between those times.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 03:01 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,969

My System Specs

Default

I'm on Teksavvy and so far I've had zero issues. Went with the 200GB cap since that's all I really pull in a month, plus apparently its 400GB averaged out over 2 months and there's rarely 2 months where I exceed 200GB. Plus it has better routing apparently so lower ping times.

I grabbed my Speedtouch 516 from Infonec as it was cheaper than TSI. Works great and I've had no issues so far. I use it in bridge mode so it really isn't doing much like DHCP/Firewall/etc. My router can handle all that.

I hope you know about DSL Reports: TekSavvy forum - dslreports.com broadband community
Great place to ask any questions you may have.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 03:08 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,792

My System Specs

Default

@Skyllz : How do you manage to bypass the throttling?
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 03:27 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inikurmoma View Post
@Skyllz : How do you manage to bypass the throttling?
Using MLPPP you can bypass bell's throttling for now.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 04:20 PM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 777

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheator View Post
Using MLPPP you can bypass bell's throttling for now.
A WRT54GS linksys router with TOMATO and MLPPP enabled, lots of infos on the DSL reports forums on how to do it.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 04:53 PM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregH View Post
I referred one of our guys at work to TS as well and he bought his 516 from DirectCanada last week for $50 or so
DC has a few in stock but the shipping 20$, might be less hassle to get it from TS for 100$ ... I wonder if TS charge for delivery ?

Oops just checked and they are out of stock at the moment.
THOMSON SPEEDTOUCH 516 ADSL2+ EXT ETHERNET MODEM/ROUTER 1PORT - DirectCanada

Let me know if you find a deal somewhere, I'm in the same boat since I am in the process of switching to TS in November.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes