Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Mobile Computing

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2008, 09:15 AM
Caznoob's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Regina, Canada
Posts: 26
Default Acer 5920-6574 OC the RAM?

I was looking at the Acer 5920-6574 at NCIX. I have OC'd a few PC's never a laptop though. I was looking at the specs on this thing and it has an 800Mhz FSB but the RAM is only running 667. I was wondering if I could do a mild OC on the RAM to put it to 800Mhz and get a 1:1 ratio on the RAM as I know it would speed things up considerably. However, would this make too much heat and eat too much power to be a viable option?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2008, 02:12 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,525

My System Specs

Default

I don't believe it. Santa Rosa only supports 667Mhz. It was thought it would go 800MHz but alas I have not seen it.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2008, 03:57 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thund3rball View Post
I don't believe it. Santa Rosa only supports 667Mhz. It was thought it would go 800MHz but alas I have not seen it.
Then the lord said, let there be bandwidth! And then there was 800mhz, for he said it to be so.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2008, 03:59 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caznoob View Post
I was looking at the Acer 5920-6574 at NCIX. I have OC'd a few PC's never a laptop though. I was looking at the specs on this thing and it has an 800Mhz FSB but the RAM is only running 667. I was wondering if I could do a mild OC on the RAM to put it to 800Mhz and get a 1:1 ratio on the RAM as I know it would speed things up considerably. However, would this make too much heat and eat too much power to be a viable option?
It would cost more power yeah, but you could just go out and buy some 800 mhz ram. It has 3 gigs of 667 though, and that does really well. Plays all my games like a champ.. i love my 5920-6574.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2008, 04:20 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,525

My System Specs

Default

But everything I have read says you can buy 800MHz Ram all you want... the chipset will downclock it to 667MHz. Do you have 800MHz Ram in your machine Cheator? Can you confirm?

Edit: Just reread your post, you have 667 just like me and everybody else. I think it's very touch and go with 800MHz. Some say it may work but is buggy. Not worth it IMO :\
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2008, 11:59 AM
Caznoob's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Regina, Canada
Posts: 26
Default

So would you recommend putting in 800Mhz RAM or just OCing from 667?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2008, 12:54 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thund3rball View Post
But everything I have read says you can buy 800MHz Ram all you want... the chipset will downclock it to 667MHz. Do you have 800MHz Ram in your machine Cheator? Can you confirm?

Edit: Just reread your post, you have 667 just like me and everybody else. I think it's very touch and go with 800MHz. Some say it may work but is buggy. Not worth it IMO :\
I can try it once I upgrade. However it is said to support it in wiki pedia and all the places I've read about it. Easy way to find out, heck I can even OC it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caznoob View Post
So would you recommend putting in 800Mhz RAM or just OCing from 667?
I would recomend using 667 ram and NOT ocing. But if you need it, You can put it in. It should work fine, I don't see why not.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2008, 06:09 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,525

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheator View Post
I can try it once I upgrade. However it is said to support it in wiki pedia and all the places I've read about it. Easy way to find out, heck I can even OC it.
Centrino - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

On Wikipedia Santa Rosa says 533MHz & 667MHz, no 800Mhz. Montevina is 800MHz DDR2 or DDR3 up to 1066MHz. It's just been delayed by Intel, I think it was supposed to be out in June.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2008, 10:16 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thund3rball View Post
Centrino - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

On Wikipedia Santa Rosa says 533MHz & 667MHz, no 800Mhz. Montevina is 800MHz DDR2 or DDR3 up to 1066MHz. It's just been delayed by Intel, I think it was supposed to be out in June.
I don't see where it DOESNT allow 800mhz.

Quote:
an Intel Mobile 965 Express chipset (code-named Crestline): GM965 with Intel's GMA X3100 graphics technology or PM965 with discrete graphics, and ICH8M southbridge, 800 MT/s front side bus with Dynamic Front Side Bus Switching to save power during low utilization
EDIT: I see what you mean when it says only 667mhz ddr2, but thats just the memory controller. One can set their ram to the proper speed with no issue.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!

Last edited by Cheator; May 31, 2008 at 10:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2008, 07:29 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,525

My System Specs

Default

On a laptop it's a little different. As I said earlier.. you might get it to 800 but it's touch and go. You might end up unstable? If it was me I would leave it at 667. There is such an miniscule performance improvement 667 --> 800. Try OCing it? If it's stable... go buy some 800, otherwise save your money.

Wait for Montevina to show up in July-ish and you can get a 1066 DDR3 laptop - Woot! I would recomend the Clevo M860TU if you can afford it :)
CeBIT 2008: Clevo Introduces New Notebooks with 8800M and 9800M GTX Graphics
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes