Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Mobile Computing

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2015, 04:46 PM
Entilza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 113

My System Specs

Default MicrosofT TW700 WinBook - Update: Ours is HIPSTREET 7"

Anyone hear of a Microsoft TW700 WinBook?

Where can these be purchased here in Canada?

They seem very versatile for the price as they run full Windows 8.1 with a USB! I think they are around $70 in the states.

Last edited by Entilza; February 1, 2015 at 06:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2015, 08:00 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,101

My System Specs

Default

That is not a Microsoft device, it's some cheap no-name company...

I know Hipstreet (E-Readers & Tablets - Windows Tablets - HIPSTREET ONLINE STORE) has something similar, costs a bit more since our CAD keeps dropping, but you can find them at Walmart/Costco/etc.

You could also look at: Buy HP Stream 7 Signature Edition Tablet - Microsoft Store Online
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2015, 08:16 PM
Entilza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 113

My System Specs

Default

Great! Thanks for the links!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2015, 06:33 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Default

I picked up an HP Stream 7 myself earlier this week. My only two complaints are the battery life (sucks royally) and the static on the headphone jack issue (resorted to a BT set, so not really an issue anymore).

Don't balk too much at only 1GB of RAM - the tablet performs really well at anything i throw at it (haven't tried gaming).
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2015, 06:40 AM
Entilza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 113

My System Specs

Default

How can I get a USB keyboard plugged into this thing full time? If I use the OTG cable doesn't it use the same slot as the power cable?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2015, 09:20 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,101

My System Specs

Default

It would be best to use a Bluetooth keyboard instead.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2015, 10:27 AM
Entilza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 113

My System Specs

Default

That makes too much sense, however I am having trouble finding if it actually has bluetooth. However, I see on the box image the blue-tooth logo, so I think you are right! Great thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes