Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Mobile Computing

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 16, 2013, 07:28 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Default Cell phone carriers getting worse?

Edit: The last week of dealing with Rogers I have had some very positive experiences, they reversed some stupid #2030 charge I got (totaling $10) and cut me another great deal on a new cell phone plan that meets my needs. If you're picking between Bell, Telus, and Rogers, I highly suggest Rogers.

I have been looking at cell phone plans because my mom is getting a new phone, and while I see some great developments, I see a few alarming things too! Telus has a plan with pretty good promotion right now, 300 + 6pm evening weekends canada wide talk, texting, call display, voice mail, 400mb of data for something like $42. With the regular 150 minutes and 200mb of data it's still an okay plan... We checked out virgin mobile, and they actually offer you some nice plans for $35 or less if you want to cut out the data and just pay a "flex" fee when you do use data (i.e. if you only need it a couple months of the year).

But, the big problem I'm seeing is most of the companies (especially the big ones) aren't offering you many options under $45 and without special deals/promotions, most plans don't even start to seem reasonable until you're into the $60 or higher price range. Another thing is that I'm not seeing anywhere near as much CHOICE as there used to be! I went to rogers website and looked up their plans online and I was like BWTF!?!?!?! They gave me 3 plans, with 2 of them only being available on certain devices, and then a couple options for plans with no data... WHAT!? If Telus wasn't offering promotional plans right now, they'd only have a small selection too... and I mean useless selection by that.