Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Mobile Computing

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2013, 01:22 PM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 453

My System Specs

Default S4

Picked up the new s4 friday like it so far, be needing an microsd, any preference as too which one to get from CC ie: are some faster than others or is class 10 fine idea on any make?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2013, 02:55 PM
FreeKnight's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 557

My System Specs

Default

I think as long as it's class 10, you don't need to worry past that. Maybe some minor variation between brands, but I know I used G.Skill, Sandisk and one other brand (kingston i think) 32gb cards in my s3 to watch 720p videos and there wasn't a single one that stood out as faster than the others, they all played pretty much instantly and there weren't any issues.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2013, 03:10 PM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 453

My System Specs

Default

Was thinking that the 16 gig plus msd would make this a supetphone but now have been reading that the msd can only be used for certain things nothing to do with google not apps, not games, seems only thinga like video shot with the phone and some pictures can go into the msd rest demands the on phone space. Wow not sure what to think of this.

Seen some articles on the web in regards to this.
Does your s3 inforce only certain things go into your sd card?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2013, 10:49 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 632

My System Specs

Default

You are correct. Android only allows apps to be installed on the phones internal memory. However the SD card can be used for taking pictures, recording video, storing music and movies, downloading etc. The onboard camera isn't fast enough that the performance between different class 10 cards will be noticeable.
__________________
Rig1 in "My System Specs"
Rig2: Q6600, P5DN-D, GTX650, 4GB HyperX, LG BD drive, TT armor case, ek supreme HF, 655 pump, XP
Dell XPS17 - i7 2820QM, 8GB ram, 1920x1080, BluRay, GT555m 3GB, 240gb Neutron GTX, 640GB Seagate, Win7 64
Server - i5 3450, Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe, 4GB DDR3, LSI MegaRAID 9240-8I, OCZ Vertex 4 120GB, 2x SG Barracuda 3TB(RAID1), 2x WD green 2TB(RAID1), Fractal Design Array R2, WHS 2011
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2013, 03:33 AM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 453

My System Specs

Default

So music which is my largest folder can all go onto the msd then theoretically have 60 gig of music and vids there leaving on board space for apps and what not.

That works for me.

Last edited by nasrott; May 5, 2013 at 05:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2013, 07:14 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,579
Default

I can see why they are using an internal only policy though - it provide more consistent, more reliable performance. - Unfortunately manufacturers are going to have to catch up with this quickly.

I assume there's going to be a one-click workaround soon enough though.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2013, 07:25 PM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 453

My System Specs

Default

Already is which allows apps to be installed on the msd. Will see if I can find the link

http:// http://api.viglink.com/api/c...13678072357586
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2013, 07:32 PM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 453

My System Specs

Default

Has been allot of talk about using api instead of going the root method that leaves biulds valnurable bcause Su is out.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes