Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Mobile Computing

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2013, 10:41 AM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

one man's shit is another man's gold. lol

your specs are too relative
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2013, 04:54 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

You're talking about photoshop. Seriously, it's photoshop. I use it everyday all day. It's not like trying to run some live rendering 3D graphics software. As I said I can run CS6 on my generations old desktop no problem. I can run CS3 on my Vista laptop no problem. You want minimum specs... there you go, lol.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2013, 05:17 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Again thats cs3.. cs6 will be what she is running.. My old laptop runs cs3 no problem but locks and freezes with cs5.

As said she is using a q6700 as her work machine.. Whats a modern mobile cpu equivalent from red and green?

Starting to be sorry I asked and didn't go just look up a few reviews and benches instead of thinking I could get a straight and simple answer.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2013, 10:40 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Sorry I don't have an answer like CPU A = CPU B. I don't know what the big deal is though? Adobe claims you can run CS6 on a P4.

https://www.adobe.com/products/creat...ech-specs.html

And judging by the performance on my AMD 64x2 I would concur. Not the hardcore motion graphics stuff though. But I would gather Photoshop would run just fine if not just a little slow when using some filters or special effects (like Radial blur). But it doesn't sound like your GF needs that anyways.

I haven't tried CS6 on my Core 2 Duo T7500 mobile CPU but since that CPU is better than my desktop CPU I would once again gather Photoshop CS6 would run just swimmingly on it. I don't think CPU is going to be your bottleneck on a modern laptop anyways. Especially anything with a Core i5 or better. Make sure she has at least 4GB Ram (more like 6-8 to add some padding imo) and you'll be in business. Photoshop CS6 also takes advantage of modern GPUs to take some load off of the CPU. So if she's got a dedicated GPU on the machine, you are even better off.

As I mentioned earlier... work laptops that IT gets their hands on run like crap around here. Because they have god knows what hogging resources. So it is not a good base to make a judgement on. If a mobile Core i5 can't handle Photoshop than how in heaven's name can it handle CPU intensive modern games like Total War or other strategy titles with armies abound on a map?

It's just Photoshop buddy. Not exactly the pinnacle of resource intensive computing nowadays. I work with hi-res 150MB tif files with sometimes dozens of layers bloating the files to 100s of MBs, sometimes even over a GB. Your GF's comic art should be no problem on any modern PC.

__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2013, 11:18 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

That is helpful.. thank you.


P>S> wasn't in the best of moods the last few days, sorry if I offended anyone.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1 key on laptop keyboard doesn't work after spill bigFOIG Troubleshooting 5 October 8, 2011 05:41 PM
Velociraptor Work In Laptop? howpet Storage 2 January 18, 2011 03:26 PM
Laptop charges at work, does not charge at home. GameOnTurtle Mobile Computing 7 October 4, 2010 07:28 PM
Laptop/Netbook with hdmi and light gaming for $500-$600? jayb Mobile Computing 21 February 15, 2010 07:54 AM
Gaming with Light editing work. Phenom II build? manbearpig New Builds 3 January 22, 2009 06:47 AM