Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Mobile Computing

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2012, 01:25 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

I just switched from them to Koodo, for the 6 GB plan. But I loved WIND. Only issue is that they didn't cover my house. Don't expect great things from customer care, but if you do it all online, the savings are worth it!
__________________
My Heatware![/SIZE][/FONT] | Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2012, 01:28 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,757

My System Specs

Default

I've been with Koodo for years and they are a great choice, just pray you never have a problem from the close of business Friday until Monday morning.
__________________
Driving sim: MSI 970 Gaming/FX6300/8GB Corsair/ASUS CUII R9 290X 4GB/750GB HDD
Daily: Intel DQ57sw/i7 2600/8GB DDR3/128GB SSD/2TG HDD/JD 5830 1GB
HTPC: Dell 960 SFF Q9550/8GB/R7 250 2GB/128GB SSD/2TB HDD

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2012, 01:50 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Port Moody, BC
Posts: 2,071

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Am I reading that right? $8/month for VOICEMAIL!?
Yes, although I believe that's a bundle that includes call display/party call/etc. Realistically, it's pretty much the same price offered everywhere for that feature, and all added up, it's WAY under what I'm paying with Bell. Even buying out my existing contract, it would pay for itself in 3 months of savings.

Last edited by Caldezar; October 24, 2012 at 02:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2012, 02:24 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 9,047
Default

The problem is very limited coverage, if you aren't in the THEIR specific coverage areas you're roaming and paying roaming fees
__________________
Here I am: here I remain
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2012, 06:31 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 4,029

My System Specs

Default

I would love Wind to expand more as I would in a heart beat switch to Wind if they covered all of Southern Ontario. Even with paying a cancellation fee I would save money very quickly.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2012, 06:40 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,564

My System Specs

Default

This might be of interest to you: Smart Plans | Plans | Shop | Fido.ca
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2012, 06:52 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 803

My System Specs

Default

I got a buddy who is using it in Ottawa, it's his only phone(no home phone) and he likes it alot. It works good for him since he never leaves Ottawa other then to go to GTA.

Recently I got a kickass plan via rogers retention however so I cant complain... 55$ a month unlimited talk 24/7 with 1 gig of data, Voicemail/call display and a iPhone 4S thrown in.
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2012, 06:54 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 13,481
Default

I'm looking for something for my girlfriend actually. It looks like European calling can be added.....but is that WITHIN the EU too or only in the phone's "local" zone. I'm wondering since this would be a great option for our trip to Italy next year.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2012, 06:59 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,757

My System Specs

Default

No cell phone plan in North America will allow international calls placed from an international location without major costs.
__________________
Driving sim: MSI 970 Gaming/FX6300/8GB Corsair/ASUS CUII R9 290X 4GB/750GB HDD
Daily: Intel DQ57sw/i7 2600/8GB DDR3/128GB SSD/2TG HDD/JD 5830 1GB
HTPC: Dell 960 SFF Q9550/8GB/R7 250 2GB/128GB SSD/2TB HDD

Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2012, 07:09 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,509

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
I'm looking for something for my girlfriend actually. It looks like European calling can be added.....but is that WITHIN the EU too or only in the phone's "local" zone. I'm wondering since this would be a great option for our trip to Italy next year.
For Italy, make sure your phone is unlocked (I used cellunlocker.net), works on Italian bands, and just get a SIM with a few GB of data when you get there. Prob get it right at the airport. Just hit up tripadvisor forums, to do some research and you could prob find the exact location of the kiosk.

I paid about $50 total for about a month of calling, texting, and data in SE Asia this summer using this method. This was 3 different SIM cards, 3 different countries too. The lowest amount of data I got was I believe $5 US for 1GB, texting and calling in Cambodia. The most expensive was Singapore, where I paid about $25 for unlimited text, I forget the voice minutes, and about 3GB of data. Prices will be different in Italy, but when I was there the last time I got a few 100mb of data, texting, and voice for I believe approx 20 euros. Did not use data much, as the phone I had was not great.

Agree with B1...I have never seen a plan that works well from a Canadian carrier.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] HTC Desire Z/G2 for WIND MOBILE. cruisx Buy/Sell & Trade 0 February 6, 2012 06:17 PM
Wind Mobile phone options moocow Mobile Computing 20 October 13, 2011 10:24 AM
[WTB] wind mobile compatible phone ITaoI Buy/Sell & Trade 0 December 20, 2010 08:24 AM
WIND Mobile Launches! Cheator Off Topic 24 December 21, 2009 05:12 AM