Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Mobile Computing

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2008, 02:00 PM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 140
Default has anyone installed OSX on a non-Mac laptop?

it's being done all the time with desktops, but laptops are still a bit more finicky, due to all the integrated hardware they have. I'd be interested to know as I plan on putting OS X on my DS3R when it's built to get some Mac experience (they're getting more and more popular. if I have any hopes of supporting Mac in the future, I need to know how to use it!) and thought if it's possible, maybe pop it on my laptop as well.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2008, 02:22 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,718

My System Specs

Default

insanelymac.com leads to a forum and wiki where there should be plenty of compatibility information. If you need help with a specific issue drop by #OSx86 on irc.moofspeak.net.
There are large compatibility lists on the wiki.

We will be seeing the return of JaS soon as well, he "retired" a while ago after 10.4.8 If I recall but he decided to whip up a 10.5.2 image. :) The 10.5.2 Kaylway DVD is said to be really good though.
Also, I am pretty happy about how there have been recent developments in regards to the Attansic L1 or w/e the onboard ethernet this Asus P5K of mine has.
Unless I am mistaken the P35 Gigabyte boards generally have great compatibility.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2008, 05:23 AM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

A friend of mine did it with his laptop. It worked fine.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2008, 12:21 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,718

My System Specs

Default

With portables you _really_ have to pay attention to what hardware it has. For example, with GMA3100 you cannot get Quartz Extreme and Core Image but with GMAX3100 you can.
Just pay attention to the hardware and search the forums and wiki for people have tried it. If nobody has then see if it works and report back to the forum/wiki with your results. :P
Compatibility with hardware seems to be increasing as users keep writing and patching drivers for previously unsupported hardware but it is not "install and use on anything" yet.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes