Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Mobile Computing

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 14, 2012, 08:50 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Default [Resolved] Looking for no-term phone in August

Hi all,

As the title hints to, my 3-year prison sentence with Bell ends early August. Additionally, I have no idea where I'm going after I graduate next year, so I obviously I don't want to imprison myself again. I'm a rookie when it comes to cell phones (I currently have a BlackBerry 8230 CDMA phone so it won't take much to be an upgrade), so here's my admittedly vague questions:

1. How is the experience using unlocked phones?
I'm leaning towards an unlocked phone, but the carriers try to hide the option in the corner of their web pages, so I'm wondering if any of you had deal-breaking experiences with them.

2. Any newly-released phones or up-in-coming phones I should be looking at for an early August purchase?
I budget $325 on the phone before taxes, although I'm willing to go up to $400 for a good unlocked phone.
The phone must have Wi-Fi, and a security mechanism such as encryption so a simple thief would rather wipe the phone and sell it for parts rather than try to get the data. (currently my BB has the setting to factory-reset after 10 bad password tries)
I plan to use the phone for (in descending order) checking e-mail, calendar, note-taking (e.g. simple stuff like shopping list and to-do list), reading social media updates, browser, voice, and occasional MP3/OGG music.

3. [Update] Any recommendations for a provider with 50-100MB data but very little of anything else? I'm thinking to go with Koodo's $20/month + $10 data add-on or Fido's $15/month + $10 data add-on.