Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Mobile Computing

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 04:53 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,901

My System Specs

Default What Android phone?

Well I will be getting an Android phone soon. I am with Telus and they don't offer many phones. Basically it comes down to the Samsung Galaxy S3 or the Samsung Galaxy Nexus.

I am leaning towards the Nexus as I think that UI looks better. The only problem is the Nexus is only 16gb with no expandable storage. I am not sure why anyone would offer a 16Gb only phone.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 04:59 PM
Keywork's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Niagara
Posts: 603

My System Specs

Default

Do you NEED more than 16GB?
__________________
Friends don't let friends use onboard video.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 05:16 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

I would still choose the Galaxy S2 over the S3 but if it was between the S3 and the Nexus I would take the S3.

Nexus is running ICS which the S3 will have soon as well.
16gb believe it or not is a lot for a phone unless you plan on storing umpteen amount of songs and videos its all you need. I have a SD card in mine just because I had a spare lying around.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 05:29 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,983

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
I would still choose the Galaxy S2 over the S3 but if it was between the S3 and the Nexus I would take the S3.

Nexus is running ICS which the S3 will have soon as well.
16gb believe it or not is a lot for a phone unless you plan on storing umpteen amount of songs and videos its all you need. I have a SD card in mine just because I had a spare lying around.
Why would you take the S3 over the S2? The S3 is better in every way

And I'd go for the S3. If you don't like the UI, change it. They're very easy to root/ install custom roms, etc. There's going to be TONS for the S3.

You can also change the UI quite a bit with just a different launcher and messaging app, which you don't need to root to do.
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 05:36 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake_HT View Post
Why would you take the S3 over the S2? The S3 is better in every way

And I'd go for the S3. If you don't like the UI, change it. They're very easy to root/ install custom roms, etc. There's going to be TONS for the S3.
If you mean by hardware wise? This is like saying its better to own a porsche than a honda because it has 300hp more. But in reality do you really need that much more hp? I mean what is it that you do on a phone that requires a quad processor? My S2 running @ 1.7ghz is more than capable of running anything you can imagine.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 05:42 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,983

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
If you mean by hardware wise? This is like saying its better to own a porsche than a honda because it has 300hp more. But in reality do you really need that much more hp? I mean what is it that you do on a phone that requires a quad processor? My S2 running @ 1.7ghz is more than capable of running anything you can imagine.
Better battery life, LTE, way nicer screen, the new S3 features if they appeal at all to OP, like face stay I think is pretty cool. Better and faster camera.

S2 is a good phone yes, but there's no denying the S3 is a better phone. Also comes preloaded with ICS which is a bonus for non root users.
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 05:49 PM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 473

My System Specs

Default

Actually, the LTE version of the S3 has an S4 processor with a better GPU. So yes, id take the S3 LTE variant.

True that the quad S3 might sound overkill on paper, but there are benchmarks floating around that the S4 (Snapdragon) is a better processor than the quad version.
__________________

Gaming Rig:

-Swiffy MCP35x X2 & 240 Rad, (2) 480 EX XSPC Rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.7 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit

HTPC Rig:

-AMD 1100T, Gigabyte UD5, 16 GB G.Skill RAM, Asus 650ti Boost, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Antec 650 watt PS, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 06:13 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,035

My System Specs

Default

The version of the S3 we are getting in Canada is not the international quad core version. We are getting the S4 snapdragon dual-core to ensure LTE on them. This is hte same processor as teh HTX One X (if I recall) and benchmark wise they are very similar.

But really all in all I would wait for the 20th and get a S3. From what I have read with regards to previews/reviews the S3 blows the Nexus out of the water in all areas, screen, speed, form factor, UI, everything. Hell if I didn't have a new Razr I would get one, hell I still want one.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 06:19 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

Galaxy S 3 by a long shot if you can afford it. Only get Galaxy Nexus if you can get some kind of hot deal like 1 year contract.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 06:21 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,815

My System Specs

Default

Our SGS3 also has 2GB of RAM, international model was only 1GB

Definitely go with the SGS3 if money is of no object. $599 (on Virgin) is the lowest I've seen, whereas the Galaxy Nexus can be had for about $399 (online, unlocked).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ubuntu on your Android phone chrisk Mobile Computing 10 April 6, 2012 02:42 PM
Windows Phone vs Android vs iPhone Grampa Mobile Computing 24 February 22, 2012 05:06 AM
Just got an android phone, but what are some must have apps? supaflyx3 Mobile Computing 15 December 6, 2011 09:51 AM
LG Optimus One Android Phone (TELUS) jcmaz Price Check 11 August 13, 2011 12:42 PM
Any android phone users? no_pulse Off Topic 9 August 9, 2011 03:48 AM