Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Mobile Computing

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #71 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2012, 03:13 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,785

My System Specs

Default

My guess is that you probably need a reflash. Lots of FCs (force closes) are a bad sign.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #72 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2012, 05:20 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,951

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
My guess is that you probably need a reflash. Lots of FCs (force closes) are a bad sign.
Reflash with wipe for that matter.

Devil kernel can be found here: [Kernel][ICS] Devil3_1.0.2 [23/07/12] - i9000 and i9000B - xda-developers

And by flashing the modem zip via CWM (Install zip option), that automatically loads the modem. There's nothing further you need to do. Sorry if it wasn't clear.
Reply With Quote
  #73 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2012, 11:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Reflash with wipe for that matter.

Devil kernel can be found here: [Kernel][ICS] Devil3_1.0.2 [23/07/12] - i9000 and i9000B - xda-developers

And by flashing the modem zip via CWM (Install zip option), that automatically loads the modem. There's nothing further you need to do. Sorry if it wasn't clear.
Thanks, I notice there are two different links and many zips and tar files...I assume one of the zip files needs to be download and installed via CWM? What is the difference between them?
Reply With Quote
  #74 (permalink)  
Old August 5, 2012, 08:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Default

this is THE BESTand EASiEST tut that i have ever come across. thank you for the great effort. will this work on my sgs2 which i bricked and had to send in for repair. if so pm me or let me know where to go.Fxxing EH
Reply With Quote
  #75 (permalink)  
Old August 5, 2012, 08:31 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,951

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teamsundin View Post
Thanks, I notice there are two different links and many zips and tar files...I assume one of the zip files needs to be download and installed via CWM? What is the difference between them?
If you're on ICS, you'll want to grab Devil3_1.1.0-ICS_i9000_CFS_BLN_CMC_20120802.zip

Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzfed View Post
this is THE BESTand EASiEST tut that i have ever come across. thank you for the great effort. will this work on my sgs2 which i bricked and had to send in for repair. if so pm me or let me know where to go.Fxxing EH
I assume it would be a very similar process, only you'd have to substitute SGS2 files of course. I can't say for certain though since I never had the SGS2, and I'm now on the SGS3.
Reply With Quote
  #76 (permalink)  
Old August 5, 2012, 08:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Default

i just flashed my stock i9000m and was up with no glitches in 20 minutes .
from Virgin galaxy s gingerbread 2.3.3.xxkg3 to 4.0.4 I9000xxjvt CyanogenMod 9-20120805-nightly-galaxysmtd
Reply With Quote
  #77 (permalink)  
Old August 5, 2012, 08:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Default

JD you will have to let us know how you did with your sgs3 as it is going to be my next phone
Reply With Quote
  #78 (permalink)  
Old August 5, 2012, 10:13 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,951

My System Specs

Default

Glad to hear it worked for you

As for my SGS3, since I face WiFi issues (maybe router related, not sure yet), I'm sticking to stock for the time being as it allows me access to the service menus in order to disable the WiFi power saving features which fixes things. Also it seems the Jellybean builds out there are lacking hardware composition so it doesn't run silky smooth as I've tried a few.

That being said, Jellybean on the SGS does work pretty well and I was running it prior to getting my SGS3. You can find it here: [ALPHA][ROM][4.1.1] CyanogenMod 10 for Samsung Galaxy S - xda-developers
Reply With Quote
  #79 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2012, 08:47 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,785

My System Specs

Default

For the S3 JD, I'd say try giving the AOKP project that task560 and ktoonsez are doing a shot. Seems less iffy than CM10 at the moment. Been running the 8/02 ROM since release and haven't had a single issue besides the rendering one that was fixed in the 8/05 release.

[ROM] AOKP(Jellybean & ICS) Task & Ktoonsez Run a Train (8/5)(TGFY ONLINE!!!) - xda-developers
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #80 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2012, 06:05 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,951

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
For the S3 JD, I'd say try giving the AOKP project that task560 and ktoonsez are doing a shot. Seems less iffy than CM10 at the moment. Been running the 8/02 ROM since release and haven't had a single issue besides the rendering one that was fixed in the 8/05 release.

[ROM] AOKP(Jellybean & ICS) Task & Ktoonsez Run a Train (8/5)(TGFY ONLINE!!!) - xda-developers
Doesn't matter, nothing from the CM10 branch supports the Samsung "service menus" or "hidden menus", whatever you want to call them. I need access to *#0011# in order to disable the WiFi power saving feature so that it'll connect to my home network.

Also, I don't like pink unicorns on my phone
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPS on android martin_metal_88 Mobile Computing 13 April 26, 2012 08:00 PM
[FS] Provider Unlocked Galaxy S I9000M Draex Buy/Sell & Trade 5 July 30, 2011 02:47 PM
Samsung Galaxy S Froyo (Android 2.2) Update beginning to make the rounds! thorn Mobile Computing 17 December 29, 2010 11:21 PM
Samsung Galaxy with Android martin_metal_88 Off Topic 2 March 12, 2010 03:05 PM
Android muse108dc Off Topic 13 November 13, 2009 04:35 PM