Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Mobile Computing

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2012, 01:46 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Quebec
Posts: 137
Default

Well thanks you for this tutorial. I think i messed my bootloader with an XDA i9000 version trying to get Slim ICS. Now back to i9000m bootloader. I've flashed back to KG3 with the files you provided like 5 times. The results are never the same. Sometime i am stuck at white galaxy s logo forever then the next time it loop at the animated galaxy s logo or it stay there "loading forver". The odin flash was sucessful, then when phone reboot to finish installation everythings going well, no red text, no errors. It been over 5 days im trying to figures this out =) I hope i can finally make it work again with the ICS.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2012, 07:34 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slay3r View Post
Well thanks you for this tutorial. I think i messed my bootloader with an XDA i9000 version trying to get Slim ICS. Now back to i9000m bootloader. I've flashed back to KG3 with the files you provided like 5 times. The results are never the same. Sometime i am stuck at white galaxy s logo forever then the next time it loop at the animated galaxy s logo or it stay there "loading forver". The odin flash was sucessful, then when phone reboot to finish installation everythings going well, no red text, no errors. It been over 5 days im trying to figures this out =) I hope i can finally make it work again with the ICS.
It is possible that it's a hardware failure at this point if it's not booting up. How long have you let it run for? Sometimes it does take quite a while before it finally finishes booting. The GT-i9000M was infamous for the internal SD failing and I had it happen to me but was able to get the phone replaced thankfully.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2012, 11:07 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,763

My System Specs

Default

Mmmm, ICS. (Although, I'm on a T959 and I'm using Euphoria)

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...


Last edited by Lpfan4ever; June 3, 2012 at 01:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2012, 11:52 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Mmm, looks nice. Man it's retarded how long it takes the carriers to release updates....
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2012, 07:20 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
Mmm, looks nice. Man it's retarded how long it takes the carriers to release updates....
Or if they bother to support it at all...
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2012, 09:18 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
Or if they bother to support it at all...
Well the Galaxy S was deemed too old to receive any further support, even though it was one of their most popular phones. I can kind of understand why though, ~370MB of RAM isn't really enough to be running ICS. It definitely has it's moments of lag which newer phones (Galaxy Nexus, One S/X, etc) don't have. Though I think it's more of a way to "force" you to buy a new phone. Android devices don't have the blind followers like iPhone where people go and buy the new model just because it's new.

I think I might upgrade to the SGS3 in a couple weeks when it's released. 2GB of RAM + LTE sounds nice, although $599 is a bit much IMO. No more contracts or tabs for me. I'll have to see and feel the device in person though. The HTC One S has impressed me, but the 1650mAH battery and lack of microSD turn me off.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2012, 04:57 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,402

My System Specs

Default

The Galaxy S3 looks to be good. Here is one thing to consider (and I am wondering if anybody else has seen or eard of this).

Out here in Ajax, LTE coverage is spotty at best (its not officially deployed here, but in the southern par of town you can get a signal). I am having issues where my phone drops connectivity once in a while...and I noticed it happened mostly when I was in the part of town where LTE sometimes worked.

I went to Bell to swap out my SIM card (as I was told a bad SIm could cause some of the issues I saw) and the lady at Bell told me that she had the LTE Note, and had the same thing happen to her. She changed the data type to GSM/HSPA only and never saw the issue after.

She said that other LTE devices have shown the same symptoms. So if you are getting the S3 keep an eye on that. I only had the SIM swapped yesterday and have not had a chance to test this as of yet.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2012, 07:19 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisk View Post
Out here in Ajax, LTE coverage is spotty at best (its not officially deployed here, but in the southern par of town you can get a signal). I am having issues where my phone drops connectivity once in a while...and I noticed it happened mostly when I was in the part of town where LTE sometimes worked.
Yeah well I stick to Toronto, Markham at the furthest. I'm fairly sure LTE coverage is solid in those areas. I believe it's a simple checkbox on the phone though to use LTE or not?
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2012, 04:40 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Well the Galaxy S was deemed too old to receive any further support, even though it was one of their most popular phones. I can kind of understand why though, ~370MB of RAM isn't really enough to be running ICS. It definitely has it's moments of lag which newer phones (Galaxy Nexus, One S/X, etc) don't have. Though I think it's more of a way to "force" you to buy a new phone. Android devices don't have the blind followers like iPhone where people go and buy the new model just because it's new.

I think I might upgrade to the SGS3 in a couple weeks when it's released. 2GB of RAM + LTE sounds nice, although $599 is a bit much IMO. No more contracts or tabs for me. I'll have to see and feel the device in person though. The HTC One S has impressed me, but the 1650mAH battery and lack of microSD turn me off.
I've never run into any issues whatsoever with regards to my phone lagging on ICS. Maybe I just don't have a crap ton of things trying to run at the same time, personally I enjoy running as little as I can to help optimize it's performance. I've been doing that since I bought then phone nearly 2 years ago.

Personally I think I'll wait till my contract is done and see what the phone market looks like in a year (plus where I'll be living/working in a year, may end up in the states).
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2012, 04:52 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
I've never run into any issues whatsoever with regards to my phone lagging on ICS. Maybe I just don't have a crap ton of things trying to run at the same time, personally I enjoy running as little as I can to help optimize it's performance. I've been doing that since I bought then phone nearly 2 years ago.
I don't have many background apps running either, but multitasking definitely isn't possible, at least not at the level that new phones are able to do so. The One X (just as an example) is able to jump in and out of applications like no tomorrow. Pretty much instantaneous. On my phone, most apps take a few seconds to "load". I suppose part of my problem is that I use Swype (~14MB) and Nova launcher (~37MB) with Beautiful Widgets, Google Reader and baconreader widgets on my home screen (~24MB). But that still leaves me with 180MB of RAM free, but I guess it's not enough.

I've tried custom kernels too which bump it up to ~390MB of RAM available and even include support for swap and zram, and they actually seem to be even laggier than the stock CM9 kernel. They work great for the first couple hours, but then they get extremely slow.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPS on android martin_metal_88 Mobile Computing 13 April 26, 2012 07:00 PM
[FS] Provider Unlocked Galaxy S I9000M Draex Buy/Sell & Trade 5 July 30, 2011 01:47 PM
Samsung Galaxy S Froyo (Android 2.2) Update beginning to make the rounds! thorn Mobile Computing 17 December 29, 2010 10:21 PM
Samsung Galaxy with Android martin_metal_88 Off Topic 2 March 12, 2010 02:05 PM
Android muse108dc Off Topic 13 November 13, 2009 03:35 PM