Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Mobile Computing

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2012, 03:03 PM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,156

My System Specs

Default Galaxy S2 vibrate function

I normally keep my phone just on vibrate so it's not disturbing if I leave it on in class. however, since I get the S2, I find the vibrate to be incredibly weak. I barely notice it when I'm just sitting still, and it's quite impossible to notice if I'm walking or biking anywhere.
I tried chomp, but it didn't really work properly. I also tried googleing it, and there were quite a few people complaining about the weak vibrate function, but just as many or more people saying that it's strong enough, or even too strong, and in the long run, there was no help to be found. I also did quick search of the forums and couldn't find anything of significance.
does anyone have any experience with this? if so, what did you do to fix it, or how do you deal with it?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2012, 04:39 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,983

My System Specs

Default

Weird, not the S2, but my Galaxy S vibrates so hard it tickles.
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2012, 04:41 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,815

My System Specs

Default

Do you have a case on the phone? That would likely limit the vibrations.

I know with the custom ICS kernels on the SGSI, there's now the ability to increase the vibration beyond "default" for those who want it. Maybe something similar exists for the SGSII?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2012, 07:09 PM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,156

My System Specs

Default

I do have a case on the phone, but it's next to unnoticeable without the case too.
possibly. doesn't that require you to root the phone or something? I'm a bit hesitant to do that, but if it's what I would have to do, then I guess I could try.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2012, 11:08 AM
morphine's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 171
Default

My S2 is kind of weak in vibrate mode as well.
Of course I have a big ass metal bumper on it as well which likely doesn't help.
At work, I like to keep mine silent but still want email/text notifications.
I rooted mine, and use the NoLED app. It makes icons appear on the screen when an email/text arrive, or when I miss a call. It's a nice app, since the S2 doesn't have it's own LED for notifications like this.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2012, 11:22 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake_HT View Post
Weird, not the S2, but my Galaxy S vibrates so hard it tickles.
Found my hard case sometimes makes it hard to notice the vibrate in my pocket. Though this tends to be only when I'm at the movie theatres (with it on silent). When it's on a tab it scares the crap out of me because of how loud it becomes.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2012, 11:26 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

I think it is personal preference myself, I have to ask my GF to turn her vibrate off regularly.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2012, 05:03 PM
morphine's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 171
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adzsask View Post
I think it is personal preference myself, I have to ask my GF to turn her vibrate off regularly.
There's a joke waiting to happen there.
But I will refrain.

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2012, 02:00 PM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,156

My System Specs

Default

Well, it seems to have been fixed with the Samsung release of ICS. Bell just released it and there's a setting in the menu for calls and texts, by default, they were both set as low as possible.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Trim Function App rjbarker Storage 5 September 2, 2010 08:04 PM
Multi-function printer saltyvinegar Peripherals 3 June 23, 2009 02:05 PM
Ignore function? Squeetard Suggestions & Feedback 30 January 15, 2009 02:07 PM
Invalid MS-DOS function tzetsin Troubleshooting 7 December 24, 2008 03:06 PM
Search function Eldonko Suggestions & Feedback 3 May 25, 2008 07:09 PM