Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Mobile Computing

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2012, 11:56 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,579
Default

Windows 7 minimum is 1 gig, but windows server can live happily on half that. But with 12 VMs .. yeah 16 gigs should be your target, minimum 12, along with a nice hyperthreaded quad core and an SSD. You should be gold then. I think JD is going a little over the top, I'm assuming you're just 'toying' as it were with these, setting up domains and whatnot, not actually using them realistically. I don't have any specific recommendations, you might want to look at "gaming" laptops though.. they do have a GPU, yes, but it's really not all that significant in power consumption, and I find they can be (not always) cheaper then "workstation" laptops..
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2012, 12:46 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default

ncix.com/products/?sku=65175&vpn=N53SV%2DDH71&manufacture=ASUS&promo id=1215

Asus N series laptop look good as I can rip out the hdd and put in a sdd and add 4x4gb of ram.

I wish I cound find out if they use the hm65s sata3 ports. And if I could get a 2.5in drive caddy to replace the optical drive with more storage. >_< I really do hate laptops, I much prefer to build everything myself for my own uses.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2012, 03:45 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,927

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jibz View Post
I cant even picture what using school owned computers would be like, I can only imagine they would be vandalized like crazy.
Surprisingly not much. And if they do, it's usually re-imaged within the week.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarkStarr View Post
I think JD is going a little over the top, I'm assuming you're just 'toying' as it were with these, setting up domains and whatnot, not actually using them realistically.
Perhaps, but all I do is "toy" with VM's as well and I hate things being slow I have a Hyper-V box with an i5 2500k and 16GB RAM, and I have my desktop with VMware Workstation with my i7 920 and 12GB of RAM. Both definitely have some slowness at times which is just annoying for me at least, and that's only with about 4-5 VMs on each.

Running 12 VMs on a mobile CPU with low-frequency DDR3 (so less bandwidth), I can only imagine how crippling the performance will be. But I guess some people are more patient that I am
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2012, 12:52 PM
SpaceSquad's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 40

My System Specs

Default

I hope price is not an issue.

Eurocom has some amazing workstation laptops that you can configure to anything you want. The Panther 2.0 mobile workstation can take a Xeon 6-core and 4 hard drives. Go nuts.

Eurocom Corporation - Number 1 in Desktop Replacement Notebook Technology
__________________
-Space
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2012, 03:22 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,579
Default

I run 2 Server 2008's, plus one linux, on top of a loaded windows 7, with an i7 620 and 4 gigs of ram on an SSD, without anything struggling whatsoever. so saying you have 5 VMs with more then double my power makes me thing you got something wrong there, JD :P
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2012, 03:48 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,927

My System Specs

Default

Well if I had to guess, it's likely an I/O issue in my scenarios as I'm doing heavy read/writes when I'm testing out my image deployment.

But still, 12 VMs on a mobile platform is going to be rough IMO. A Server 2008 R2 DC, XP and Ubuntu clients on my i5 2520M with 6GB of RAM and a 128GB Samsung SSD wasn't very pleasant. And that was just doing school work, so basically just idling. It just didn't feel buttery smooth.

My standard of acceptable performance is just higher than everyone else's I suppose.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could I change my current laptop cpu to this one? Keltron 3030 CPU's and Motherboards 25 September 24, 2010 05:11 PM
Thermaltake Launches Low-Profile CPU Cooler SlimX3 Ideal for Low Profile PCs and HTPCs FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 15 April 5, 2010 03:56 PM
[FS] Ideal 31-064 Tuff-Grip S-Class Fiberglass Fish Tape Chromey Buy/Sell & Trade 4 April 3, 2010 11:35 AM
What's your ideal setup? Jack Rabbit Off Topic 27 January 25, 2010 07:18 AM
lol @ my current pc Kayen Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 12 July 25, 2008 01:26 PM