Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Mobile Computing

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2011, 07:33 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 724
Default Wind Mobile phone options

My dumb Nokia is about to give up the ghost and I'm sick of Fido since they want $25 in order to downgrade my monthly plan. I use only 10 minutes a month and I have over 1000 unused minutes. Anyone using the Huawei dumb phones? If so, how do you find the receptions around Vancouver? I don't have the money to invest in a smart phone yet as the cash is locked in for my new server.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 11:54 AM
Iceman's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 47
Default

You might want to check out Virgin Mobile. It's 35 cents a min with no monthly contract and no system access fee. Just be warned that the money you put on your account expires after a certain amount of time. There's an option for auto top up though, so you don't have to worry about it running out on you. Check here for more info.

I've had them for a few years now. I just put $100 on the account and I'm good for the year. It works out to just over $8 a month.
__________________
Antec P182 - Gigabyte EP35 DSR3 - E8400@3.6Ghz - 2x2 GB GSkill F2 6400CL4 - HIS HD 5770 - Audigy 2 - Corsair Force 3 60GB - 7200.11 500GB - Silencer 610W - Windows 7
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2011, 07:58 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 26
Default

I have a friend across the street in Hamilton that has almost no reception on WIND even though Hamilton is part of a WIND zone. If you're looking for cheap cell phone plans you might want to check out 7/11 or Petro Canada mobility, they both use the Rogers 2G network and have great coverage at like 20c a minute.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2011, 02:15 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 493
Default

Wind shouldn't be any worse than Rogers 2G, if you can't connect to Wind 3G you roam on Rogers 2G for 25 per minute.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2011, 08:55 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,927

My System Specs

Default

I'm assuming it's more of an emergency-only phone? Unless you do a ton of texting, I agree with the others in that you want to be on a developed network with decent coverage, not Wind/Public/Moblicity.

Only thing worse than not having a cell when you need it, is having one with no reception where you need it.

Rogers also offers a $100/year prepaid plan as well.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2011, 09:16 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 632

My System Specs

Default

Go with Virgin. You can do the pay as you go like Iceman says, and they use the same tower system as Bell and Telus. Rogers and Wind have garbage reception once you are outside of major cities.
__________________
Rig1 in "My System Specs"
Rig2: Q6600, P5DN-D, GTX650, 4GB HyperX, LG BD drive, TT armor case, ek supreme HF, 655 pump, XP
Dell XPS17 - i7 2820QM, 8GB ram, 1920x1080, BluRay, GT555m 3GB, 240gb Neutron GTX, 640GB Seagate, Win7 64
Server - i5 3450, Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe, 4GB DDR3, LSI MegaRAID 9240-8I, OCZ Vertex 4 120GB, 2x SG Barracuda 3TB(RAID1), 2x WD green 2TB(RAID1), Fractal Design Array R2, WHS 2011
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2011, 10:27 PM
chubaka's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Van
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default

mobilicity vancouver is decent when you are in their coverage area. but as you get nearer to the edge of their coverage boundaries, you get low to no signal.
Same case for underground floors too.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2011, 10:01 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iceman View Post
You might want to check out Virgin Mobile. It's 35 cents a min with no monthly contract and no system access fee. Just be warned that the money you put on your account expires after a certain amount of time. There's an option for auto top up though, so you don't have to worry about it running out on you. Check here for more info.

I've had them for a few years now. I just put $100 on the account and I'm good for the year. It works out to just over $8 a month.
For that kind of usage, PC Telecom is usually cheaper. They also use the Bellus network, and local calls are 20 cents/m, long distance 45 cents/m. (vs 35/m and 70/m with Virgin). $100 top-up with PC also lasts a year.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2011, 07:47 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 99
Default

I'm using the huawei dumb phone on Wind here. I generally get signals everywhere I go in Vancouver, except SFU Burnaby campus. In general, the signal is ok for the price, but I have heard a lot of my friends complain about voice quality (as in, sometimes they can't even hear me) which happens more often than I would want. If you use your phone inside a building, it might also goes out of signal. I'm not sure if these problems are caused by the phone or Wind ( I haven't try any other phones yet).

This also lead to my own question, has anyone here on Wind that uses a different phone (say the Nexus S) that does not have the problems I listed?
__________________
E4500, 2GB DDR2-800, Coolermaster 500W PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2011, 08:20 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by esperasoppa View Post
I'm using the huawei dumb phone on Wind here. I generally get signals everywhere I go in Vancouver, except SFU Burnaby campus. In general, the signal is ok for the price, but I have heard a lot of my friends complain about voice quality (as in, sometimes they can't even hear me) which happens more often than I would want. If you use your phone inside a building, it might also goes out of signal. I'm not sure if these problems are caused by the phone or Wind ( I haven't try any other phones yet).

This also lead to my own question, has anyone here on Wind that uses a different phone (say the Nexus S) that does not have the problems I listed?
I've got an HD7, which seems better than the Huawei U8100 I had for a bit, but the vast majority of the time I'm using the the phone in a 5-bar location in Calgary, so I dunno what's due to the phone.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] WIND Compatible phone (smart or dumb) Cheator Buy/Sell & Trade 0 February 16, 2011 08:13 PM
[WTB] wind mobile compatible phone ITaoI Buy/Sell & Trade 0 December 20, 2010 07:24 AM
WIND Mobile Launches! Cheator Off Topic 24 December 21, 2009 04:12 AM
Wind Mobile's launch postoned as the CRTC encours more of my hatred muse108dc Press Releases & Tech News 11 October 31, 2009 09:26 PM