Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Mobile Computing

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2011, 11:05 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default Anybody know of a beastly worktop?

I'm looking for a new laptop to replace my lenovo t500 for school as the whole dual core thing isn't cutting it.

I want to find something like an i7 2630QM machine with 8-16gb of ram with the cheapest or no dedicated video. For my classes I run up to 6 VMs of windows server 2008 R2 as well as some linux, win7 and xp VMs simultaneously. Small screen size would be nice as I'm not looking for a gaming tank or anything flashy I just was horsepower under the hood that I can throw an sata 6gb/s SSD or two into.

Anybody come across any workhorse laptops that aren't $1800+ dell/lenovo proprietary rip offs?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2011, 11:19 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,556

My System Specs

Default

i honestly don't think any current laptop can handle 9-10 VMs simultaneously, at least without a massive slowdown.. also that's a good way to kill an SSD, tons of reads and writes with VMs.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2011, 11:25 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jibz View Post
I'm looking for a new laptop to replace my lenovo t500 for school as the whole dual core thing isn't cutting it.

I want to find something like an i7 2630QM machine with 8-16gb of ram with the cheapest or no dedicated video. For my classes I run up to 6 VMs of windows server 2008 R2 as well as some linux, win7 and xp VMs simultaneously. Small screen size would be nice as I'm not looking for a gaming tank or anything flashy I just was horsepower under the hood that I can throw an sata 6gb/s SSD or two into.

Anybody come across any workhorse laptops that aren't $1800+ dell/lenovo proprietary rip offs?
wow you need to run all of those OSs in VM on a laptop... that sucks , when I think of a lap top I think of mobility an maybe mild gaming but usually the gaming would suck because of wireless . but on my PC I got away with 8 gb ram running 5 vmed OSs I was testing and it ran fairly smooth I would imagine there should be some deals out there or at least coming up soon .
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 11, 2011, 02:08 AM
Galcobar's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Richmond, B.C.
Posts: 437

My System Specs

Default

Mobile workstation, you might want to look at Dell Precision (AnandTech - Dell Precision Mobile Workstations: Now with Larger and Faster SSDs) or HP EliteBook (they have two lines of EliteBooks, W with Quadro graphics AnandTech - HP EliteBook 8760w: Color, So Dreamy and P with low-end AMD cards, http://www.anandtech.com/show/4306/hp-elitebook-8460p-everything-but-the-screen)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 11, 2011, 08:30 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default

The main killer is active directory class. As is stands we have 3 hour lab periods consisting of 2 hours or waiting for VMs as they reboot.

Im thinking hyperthreaded quadcore, double the ram is a start but the read/write would have to be substancial too though torcher on the ssd.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 11, 2011, 08:42 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Buy an Asus G74.. they are beastly and give you i7 peformance with 12gb of ram. and cost about $1900
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 11, 2011, 11:29 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,951

My System Specs

Default

You should just get a 1U server, put ESXi on it and setup a VPN in your house. Then just remotely connect to it from school.

Why doesn't your school provide you with adequate hardware in class? My school has i5's and 8GB of RAM for this purpose.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 11, 2011, 11:44 AM
Keywork's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Niagara
Posts: 604

My System Specs

Default

I've got an Elitebook with a Core2 CPU and 4GB of RAM. I've had no problems running 3-5 VM's on it. You don't need as much horsepower as you think you do.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 11, 2011, 11:48 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,604

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
You should just get a 1U server, put ESXi on it and setup a VPN in your house. Then just remotely connect to it from school.

Why doesn't your school provide you with adequate hardware in class? My school has i5's and 8GB of RAM for this purpose.
This is probably your best and cheapest solution. I too am baffled that that the hardware in his class my inadequate for what is required of them.

I know I've had some unique labs for my college/university courses that have been very small classes and not warranted the massive hardware required, but i've never been bogged down as badly as the op is saying.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 11, 2011, 02:07 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,588
Default

wouldn't the bandwidth requirements for a home VPN connection to 6 separate VM be just a touch inadequate?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes