Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Mobile Computing

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2011, 11:29 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,575

My System Specs

Default

It was a weekend only sale, personally I think they should just let them all go at the reduced price, take the hit. They won't, they may hope that this new following + android in the future may make it popular enough to clear the rest of their stock perhaps
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2011, 01:22 PM
Nexitus's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 105

My System Specs

Default

Still hoping my 2 orders from hpshopping.ca goes through :( Its a wait and see game thus far.
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2011, 01:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 21
Default

I managed to get a 32gb one from my local Staples on Saturday. I'm still trying to figure this thing out, the only thing closed to it I've owned is a Kindle. Someone recommended installing Preware then making a kernel change to overclock it to 1.7ghz. The instructions are written in typical Linux techno-jargon and I can't follow it at all..except the part that tells you you'll brick it if you screw any bit of the process up. I gave up.

BTW, mine has pretty bad backlight bleeding but don't notice it when in the os.
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2011, 02:04 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Is it really necessarily to overclock a tablet? espically with webOS which doesn't really have anything that would need the power, 1.2ghz dualcore in a tablet is plenty IMO
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2011, 02:13 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
Is it really necessarily to overclock a tablet? espically with webOS which doesn't really have anything that would need the power, 1.2ghz dualcore in a tablet is plenty IMO
The claim is that it will "fly" at 1.7ghz.
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2011, 02:34 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,575

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
Is it really necessarily to overclock a tablet? espically with webOS which doesn't really have anything that would need the power, 1.2ghz dualcore in a tablet is plenty IMO
You're clearly not a computer enthusiast, if it has the ability to be overclocked by god overclock it.
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2011, 02:38 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,400

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
Is it really necessarily to overclock a tablet? espically with webOS which doesn't really have anything that would need the power, 1.2ghz dualcore in a tablet is plenty IMO
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
You're clearly not a computer enthusiast, if it has the ability to be overclocked by god overclock it.
I vote to ban him asap!
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2011, 02:45 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

I understand that, but cutting the battery life in half, is it worth it? :P
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2011, 03:05 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

Picked up one on sunday at nearest Future Shop, but can't seem to stream videos due to too many ads.

Help please.


Friendly note.
One 32gb left at Med Hat FS.
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2011, 03:08 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silvgearx View Post
Picked up one on sunday at nearest Future Shop, but can't seem to stream videos due to too many ads.

Help please.


Friendly note.
One 32gb left at Med Hat FS.
Be super friendly and grab it for me! None left in ottawa :(
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HP Touchpad Launching July 1 Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 0 June 10, 2011 04:17 PM
webOS Powered HP Touchpad Makes an Appearence at Computex Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 1 June 6, 2011 12:15 PM