Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Mobile Computing

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2009, 02:27 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 973
Default Anyway to use a laptop screen as a second monitor?

Is there like some type of device that lets you do this? Im pretty video sources on laptops are outputs and not inputs
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2009, 10:32 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,967

My System Specs

Default

You could use this: Multi Monitor - Dual Monitor - KVM switch that would do it over the network. Obviously you have to buy it, but it would do what you want.

Only other way would be to rip out your laptop LCD and wire up a VGA/DVI port to it somehow.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2009, 10:42 AM
Spaceman-Spiff's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: burnaby.bc.ca
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyLou View Post
Is there like some type of device that lets you do this? Im pretty video sources on laptops are outputs and not inputs
I wanted to do this in the past when building new computers (for testing purposes). I usually build new systems in the living room, and I keep my monitors in my own room. After Googling and reading few articles and forum posts, I found that it's possible, but the methods were too inconvenient to do. It's still much easier to unplug my monitor, move it to the living room, and plug it to the new system.

If you can find easier methods, I'll be interested to know too.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2009, 11:23 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
You could use this: Multi Monitor - Dual Monitor - KVM switch that would do it over the network. Obviously you have to buy it, but it would do what you want.
.
"Control up to four computers from a single keyboard and mouse even more convenient than using a KVM switch - Simply move the mouse cursor to the computer you would like to control with the software KVM feature"


I may give a try to this one ,
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2009, 12:32 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,967

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
"Control up to four computers from a single keyboard and mouse even more convenient than using a KVM switch - Simply move the mouse cursor to the computer you would like to control with the software KVM feature"


I may give a try to this one ,
I used a trial quite some time ago, and it worked quite well surprisingly.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Laptop w/17" screen 3.0charlie Buy/Sell & Trade 1 September 27, 2009 03:48 PM
Need Help. Re: Replacement Laptop Screen SKYMTL Mobile Computing 10 September 10, 2009 05:30 AM
Big screen TV as monitor tech_joe Display Units 15 July 4, 2008 12:17 AM
Monitor randomly going blank screen durdy Display Units 3 May 26, 2008 03:59 PM
Looking to buy my first 22" wide screen monitor Canadianguy Display Units 37 November 19, 2007 06:56 PM