Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Mobile Computing

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 29, 2009, 12:22 AM
Allstar

Default Clarksfield vs. Arrandale

Alright, here is the conundrum. I honestly have no idea which processor would be a better match for my mobile needs.

I'm a programmer, which means that I run IDEs and compilers all day. which also means that i need my compiling to work fast as i'll be pushing the compile button dozens of times a day(more or less).

anyhow, my usage of the laptop is as follows:
-compiling(visual studio, netbeans, eclipse)
-youtubing
-bluray playback
-miscellaneous light 'office' procedures

what i value(in order of most important):
-compiling speed
-battery life
-low heat output

so, at the end of the day, which processor would you recommend for my needs? would having a quadcore significantly benefit me more than a dualcore(both HTed of course). or are they so similiar as to not matter.

also, i would most likely be getting a vertex to put into the lappy.
Old September 29, 2009, 04:41 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Obviously if you want the best compiling speed you want the most amount of cache as possible, so a clarksfield would suit you better. However, as these are "enthusiast" chips compared to arrandale, you'll be paying a hefty premium for them. I believe that, depending on your version of Visual Studio (and other software) you use, a quad core may not make a difference in compiling speed as a lot of them are just single threaded compilers. Maybe Microsoft got smarter with their newer versions (I haven't used anything higher than 2005).