Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Mobile Computing

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2009, 04:33 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default 1080p out on laptop/netbook not for gaming.

a friend of mine is looking for a laptop to output to his new tv, he doesnt play games just msn and web surfing, can you guys help me find the cheapest one for him, only windows no linux.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2009, 05:01 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Asus N10J has integrated Nvidia graphics with HDMI out. I'd go for that.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2009, 06:11 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

well i told my friend lets see what he chooses.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2009, 08:26 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,970

My System Specs

Default

Any laptop with a HDMI output would suffice IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2009, 08:01 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,684

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
Any laptop with a HDMI output would suffice IMO.
Not true, unless Vista is just bogging it down. It can stream 720p no problem, but 1080p seems to be quite difficult for a T4200 or whatever it's called. A lot of laptops have that chip so be cautious.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2009, 08:03 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bojangles View Post
Not true, unless Vista is just bogging it down. It can stream 720p no problem, but 1080p seems to be quite difficult for a T4200 or whatever it's called. A lot of laptops have that chip so be cautious.
Thats a good point bojangles, but I believe many of those "entry-level" laptops pair a weak intel with a weak intell 4500MHD chipset. In this case, the CPU is still a big factor in the ability to play 1080p. On the other hand, any newer Nvidia/ATI IGP (9300/HD3200) does almost everything itself without the need for a high-end processor.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2009, 09:44 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Thats a good point bojangles, but I believe many of those "entry-level" laptops pair a weak intel with a weak intell 4500MHD chipset. In this case, the CPU is still a big factor in the ability to play 1080p. On the other hand, any newer Nvidia/ATI IGP (9300/HD3200) does almost everything itself without the need for a high-end processor.
The 4500 will stream 1080p no problem and the cpu is by far not a roadblock imo. I've used an amd x2 4200 and 3800 to stream 1080p with no issue, no lag, etc, plus the 4500 has decoders built in that help.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2009, 10:41 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,970

My System Specs

Default

I think the issue with HD playback is what codecs you choose to use. I typically run CoreAVC which IMO uses far less resources than anything else.

And any laptop with HDMI would be able to run 1080p to show the Internet and MSN. He never mentioned HD video playback.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2009, 02:32 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,684

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheator View Post
The 4500 will stream 1080p no problem and the cpu is by far not a roadblock imo. I've used an amd x2 4200 and 3800 to stream 1080p with no issue, no lag, etc, plus the 4500 has decoders built in that help.
It could be a codec issue or some resources being used that shouldn't be. I use the CCCP pack so I would have thought it wouldn't be an issue. I'll try another one and see what happens.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Gateway FX Gaming Laptop Table21 Buy/Sell & Trade 3 August 25, 2009 06:43 PM
Gaming laptop build Wolfx25 Mobile Computing 7 May 27, 2009 12:57 PM
[WTB] Inexpensive laptop/netbook? CMetaphor Buy/Sell & Trade 13 April 21, 2009 04:58 PM
Gaming laptop. Hillsdale Mobile Computing 15 July 25, 2008 05:51 AM
laptop shuts off during gaming? t0m Mobile Computing 9 February 18, 2008 01:34 AM