Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Mobile Computing

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2009, 06:24 PM
SneakySnake's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 296

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
1/ No touch sensor on the track pad. You have to use the actual mouse button to select (drove me absolutely nuts within 5 minutes).
That's just a setting you turn on or off depending on preference. The new ones only use multi touch - ie. there's no physical button

Windows laptops drive me crazy since I can't scroll using a two finger swipe
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2009, 10:39 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,960

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SneakySnake View Post
That's just a setting you turn on or off depending on preference. The new ones only use multi touch - ie. there's no physical button

Windows laptops drive me crazy since I can't scroll using a two finger swipe
werd. I can't stand non-multitouch trackpads. If I could get a full-sized multi-touch trackpad to use with my desktop I would in a heartbeat.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 02:57 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,717

My System Specs

Default

You might want to look into using a graphics tablet then, lowfat. :P
Not quite the same, I know, but if you have enough buttons available then it would be decent I suppose. Not good for gaming but the same goes for a trackpad.

An interesting note here. Apple's Twentieth Anniversary Mac(TAM) came with a trackpad instead of a mouse. It was detachable from the keyboard and the keyboard even had a leather palm rest. That was 1997 though, so no multi-touch. hehe
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 08:11 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

bit of an update my macbook is on the truck for delivery
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 09:59 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

i got my mac book. And i absolutly love it. the next step is install some free apps. Any suggestions ?
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 10:18 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,960

My System Specs

Default

Adium for MSN. Handbrake for ripping DVDs & Converting videos. Perian codec pack. Flip4Mac for WMV playback. Those are pretty much the only applications I install.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 12:08 PM
SneakySnake's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 296

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Adium for MSN. Handbrake for ripping DVDs & Converting videos. Perian codec pack. Flip4Mac for WMV playback. Those are pretty much the only applications I install.
+1 on Adium and Handbrake

Handbrake rips DVD's now? I thought it only converted/encoded them. Also grab VLC for video playback.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 12:53 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

i have installed a bunch of software now.

Handbrake
amsn
vlc
virtuabox
openoffice
the unarchiver
mactheripper

I have one question. How to change what program is associated with what file.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 01:16 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,717

My System Specs

Default

Select the file then hit command+i (or select Get Info from either the menu bar or contextual menu) and look for the triangle beside "Open with". Hit that triangle and select your preferred app.
Also, there should be a "apply to all" or something button there too so that all files like it are opened with the same app.

btw, I <3 MenuMeters
Gonna boot up my old G4 and have a look around it's HDD for names of good software in a bit here.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 01:17 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,960

My System Specs

Default

right click the file, get info. then 'open with'

EDIT: 10 seconds to slow.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hrm. Something just crossed my mind Sagath Power Supplies 3 March 20, 2009 07:52 PM