Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Member Reviews

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 5, 2013, 08:18 AM
Trial Member

Default Android 5" GPS

So here's a little review write up I did,

I was in the market for a GPS. I no longer wanted to use my iPhone as a GPS as that uses quite a bit of my precious data. Looking at all the big brands, TomTom and Garmin mainly, nothing appealed to me. All seemed too expensive to do one little thing, pinpoint your location on a map. Like really, $200-$300 for a GPS? I'd rather pay the extra $10-$15 a month for more/unlimited data on my iPhone... plus I can use the data for anything. With a GPS, you are pretty restricted. Now I'm currently a high school student, my wallet won't open up wide enough for a fancy $200 GPS, I rather pull out the paper map out of the glovebox. Recently, I've made a few purchases on one of those Chinese product sites, I'm sure you've heard of them. Dealextreme, T-Mart, Alibaba, those sites. Searching around, I've actually found a few... for like $50 and will do the job just fine and guess what? Most of the GPS systems available either have Android or WinCE... what does that mean? I can play angry birds on my way to school!!

...Just kidding. Android has thousands of apps, that I can download and use. I was familiar with the Android mobile OS, which influenced me to pick up a Android-based GPS. Quite simply, these are smaller tablets with GPS capability.

The one I bought specifically, was a "Android 4.0 WIFI 5" GPS Navigator Build-in 8GB USA & Canada & Mexico Map".

I frankly didn't care about the maps, I was going to download a different nav app anyways. This was WIFI enabled, so I can tether with my phone. Android 4.0, which is not the latest, but decent nonetheless and has 8GB of storage to load up on more maps or apps. Only con here, is no bluetooth :(.