Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Member Reviews

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2011, 05:51 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 693

My System Specs

Default DO NOT BUY GIGABYTE

I always used to buy gigabyte boards, but no more. I bought a used 890fxa-ud5 board. I had to RMA it recently, why, long story and I cant talk about it. Anyways it finally got there. I got an email 4 days later that they have it and they will inspect and if something needs to be changed inform them within 2 business days. This was last week. Anyways I called them yesterday and today. Had to pay long distance as their number for RMA enquiries or anything else is local.

I just spoke to someone and they said, it's packed and ready to be shipped and I will get a tracking number once it's shipped? I asked them if I am getting the same board back and or what did they fix? She said, "it's the same board and the fix was the latest version of bios"?

Are you kidding me, I asked, she said no.

Is gigabyte the worst company to deal with? Like I called them atleast a couple of times before, they really do suck.

I am so mad right now. I spent so much time and effort before sending this board, and the fix was latest version of bios which I had done already.

This better work when it comes back or I am contacting better business bureau lol

EDIT: Here is the funny thing, the last version of bios on their site is:
RSS
Version Size Date Download Here Description
F6 0.74 MB 2010/11/24 Asia China America Europe Europe(Russia) : FTP / Http
Support new JM363 version
Fix Cool'n'Quiet compatibility

This bios they are talking about it, better not be that:(
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2011, 05:57 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,549

My System Specs

Default

You 100% sure it wasn't your CPU?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2011, 05:59 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 693

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
You 100% sure it wasn't your CPU?
Hmmm no, but the solution does not make sense though. How can you update bios to a version it was already was? I actually rma'd 1055T as well and I love AMD support, they send you an email every step of the way.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2011, 06:05 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,549

My System Specs

Default

It may have been corrupted from the CPU? I dunno wait until you actually get the board before knocking on the company.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2011, 06:21 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 693

My System Specs

Default

Right, but I am still dissatisfied with the support I got from them. So far they have really been disappointing. And yes they really do suck. I just did some search and gigabyte are not known for their customer support.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2011, 06:28 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

The last Gigabyte board I had (for my Q6600) was a great board stability-wise, but it had an issue with the audio and something called dpc latency. Some folks sent in their boards for rma and the engineers loaded a bios that was not listed on the Gigabyte site that helped the issue.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2011, 06:31 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 693

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisk View Post
The last Gigabyte board I had (for my Q6600) was a great board stability-wise, but it had an issue with the audio and something called dpc latency. Some folks sent in their boards for rma and the engineers loaded a bios that was not listed on the Gigabyte site that helped the issue.
Ah I really hope so, thanks Captain. I appreciate that. But I still don't like their customer support and they don't have a toll free number? Like which decade do they think it is.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2011, 07:04 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Your_friendly_gamer View Post
Ah I really hope so, thanks Captain. I appreciate that. But I still don't like their customer support and they don't have a toll free number? Like which decade do they think it is.
No toll-free number sucks for sure. Asus has an rma depot near here (30 min drive)...your call to Gigabyte might have cost you more than the gas I would spend to visit personally.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2011, 07:15 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

If you get mad that fast and stop buying a brand because they found fix you have fail to do. You wont be buying any comptuer hardware really soon.
Gigabyte have some of the best successfull RMA out there, so many brand ship defective board or fail to even find a problem on the mobo.
Next time before starting to bitch at some company maybe you could wait to see if they fixed the problem? Because now you will only look like an idiot if it was really a bios problem.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2011, 07:24 PM
NI3 NI3 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 246
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
If you get mad that fast and stop buying a brand because they found fix you have fail to do. You wont be buying any comptuer hardware really soon.
Gigabyte have some of the best successfull RMA out there, so many brand ship defective board or fail to even find a problem on the mobo.
Next time before starting to bitch at some company maybe you could wait to see if they fixed the problem? Because now you will only look like an idiot if it was really a bios problem.
Well, in all fairness, they said the fix was updating it to the latest bios, when it already was the latest.

IMO, it (gigabyte) isn't that bad, considering some of the other warranties.

Last edited by NI3; November 30, 2011 at 07:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte GTX 470 OC yycraven Price Check 8 October 4, 2011 06:15 PM
[FS] Two Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB $150 Each $280 for Both riflepwnage Buy/Sell & Trade 1 April 30, 2011 11:40 AM
Gigabyte G1.Assassin yugioh CPU's and Motherboards 8 April 28, 2011 04:04 AM
[FS] FS: Gigabyte P55 UD4P Eldonko Buy/Sell & Trade 12 November 28, 2009 07:22 PM
ram on gigabyte x58 ds4 gingerbee Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 February 9, 2009 10:43 PM