Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Member Reviews

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #71 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2011, 09:07 AM
neojjjk's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ind/Can
Posts: 203

My System Specs

Default

looks like he will get a new board with new bios .
Reply With Quote
  #72 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2011, 09:40 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 960
Default

After my horrible experience with the EP35 DS4 (I believe) and the cold boot issue which was never resolved and which one day just wouldn't boot anymore I've pretty much decided to avoid them when possible. It would have been different had they actually fixed it but from what I understand it was an issue for people for numerous years.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #73 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2011, 03:09 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 679

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neojjjk View Post
looks like he will get a new board with new bios .
I doubt that lol, I was told that it's the same board and it has been fixed and the fix was the latest bios.
Reply With Quote
  #74 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2011, 10:34 AM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 679

My System Specs

Default updae

According to USPS tracking number, it was scheduled to be picked up on the 1st of december which did happen. However, it's the 11th today and according to the USPS site, it's still in the US. Has not arrived to Canada yet. Not only Gigabyte has a horrible customer support, they are also super slow and use cheap means of shipping.

I have RMA'd to MSI, EVGA, Antec twice and they all used well know carrier services, instead of national postal services.
Reply With Quote
  #75 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2011, 11:02 AM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

You cant blame them for using the basic shipping method, since they are paying for it. At this point its out of their hands and in USPS's. Your package may have been delayed at the border.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #76 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2011, 01:18 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Your_friendly_gamer View Post
According to USPS tracking number, it was scheduled to be picked up on the 1st of december which did happen. However, it's the 11th today and according to the USPS site, it's still in the US. Has not arrived to Canada yet. Not only Gigabyte has a horrible customer support, they are also super slow and use cheap means of shipping.

I have RMA'd to MSI, EVGA, Antec twice and they all used well know carrier services, instead of national postal services.

bah humbug
i hope it gets stuk till 2012 lol

trackin doesnt always work
@ least you gettin it
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #77 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 02:32 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Your_friendly_gamer View Post
According to USPS tracking number, it was scheduled to be picked up on the 1st of december which did happen. However, it's the 11th today and according to the USPS site, it's still in the US. Has not arrived to Canada yet. Not only Gigabyte has a horrible customer support, they are also super slow and use cheap means of shipping.

I have RMA'd to MSI, EVGA, Antec twice and they all used well know carrier services, instead of national postal services.
It is likely sitting at the border. or just cleared late.

What you want to hope is that they don't/didn't at the border assess it a charge due to the package and documentation not being filled out indicating its a warranty return from RMA

Some dumb*** companies like Razer send stuff back from RMA's and don't mark its a RMA repair and you get hit with the fees, had this happen in our home with Razer products within the last 3 months.
We just refused it and they didn't like it but thats to bad.
I am not taking the time to "reclaim" anything like that on rebate forms to gov't depts., they can send it correct in the first place.

Thats why I avoid that joint to.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
  #78 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 04:03 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Your_friendly_gamer View Post
According to USPS tracking number, it was scheduled to be picked up on the 1st of december which did happen. However, it's the 11th today and according to the USPS site, it's still in the US. Has not arrived to Canada yet. Not only Gigabyte has a horrible customer support, they are also super slow and use cheap means of shipping.

I have RMA'd to MSI, EVGA, Antec twice and they all used well know carrier services, instead of national postal services.
ok with your USPS track# punch in @ canada post to speed up clearance also check box to notify
Reply With Quote
  #79 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 05:12 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Sooooo.. I'm assuming the issue has been partly resolved so far? Soz, but the thread is 8 pages long lol. I'm intrigued by this as I've never had to RMA anything in my life and also the fact that one of my co-worker who's an avid fan boy to branding always bang on about how Gigabyte is the best blah blah and if I'm honest it just goes out the other ear.
Reply With Quote
  #80 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 06:05 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tyreman View Post
It is likely sitting at the border. or just cleared late.

What you want to hope is that they don't/didn't at the border assess it a charge due to the package and documentation not being filled out indicating its a warranty return from RMA

Some dumb*** companies like Razer send stuff back from RMA's and don't mark its a RMA repair and you get hit with the fees, had this happen in our home with Razer products within the last 3 months.
We just refused it and they didn't like it but thats to bad.
I am not taking the time to "reclaim" anything like that on rebate forms to gov't depts., they can send it correct in the first place.

Thats why I avoid that joint to.
thats exactly what happened to me with a gigabut rma
got stuk @ border and i had to pay cause they did not mark it as rma
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte GTX 470 OC yycraven Price Check 8 October 4, 2011 05:15 PM
[FS] Two Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB $150 Each $280 for Both riflepwnage Buy/Sell & Trade 1 April 30, 2011 10:40 AM
Gigabyte G1.Assassin yugioh CPU's and Motherboards 8 April 28, 2011 03:04 AM
[FS] FS: Gigabyte P55 UD4P Eldonko Buy/Sell & Trade 12 November 28, 2009 06:22 PM
ram on gigabyte x58 ds4 gingerbee Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 February 9, 2009 09:43 PM