Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Member Reviews

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #71 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2008, 09:02 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Check my SS on page 1 for the memset settings. I tested the mem on P5K which has now been replaced with a DFI T2RS so I dont even have the board to check BIOS. It is also possible your kit doesnt do 1100, why dont you start at 1000 and move up slowly until you see memtest errors.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #72 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2008, 10:10 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Check my SS on page 1 for the memset settings. I tested the mem on P5K which has now been replaced with a DFI T2RS so I dont even have the board to check BIOS. It is also possible your kit doesnt do 1100, why dont you start at 1000 and move up slowly until you see memtest errors.
That's what I've been trying to do...

Kind of sucks because I thought I'd try for more out of these, given they are supposedly handpicked and high quality ICs, but I think I might have had a better pair of sticks with my (now sold) ReaperX....

Oh well... I'll keep trying and see where I get with them...

I'll post results to keep you up to date.

Still waiting on my quad, so once I have that in, which will be my final rig for a while , I'll start looking for a balance between CPU/FSB/RAM overclocks.

THanks for the help dude!
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #73 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2008, 10:11 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 82
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Check my SS on page 1 for the memset settings. I tested the mem on P5K which has now been replaced with a DFI T2RS so I dont even have the board to check BIOS. It is also possible your kit doesnt do 1100, why dont you start at 1000 and move up slowly until you see memtest errors.
Ah, have you tested the memory with the DFI now? I want to see how your results compare with mine. I didn't use memset to change my settings - I changed the settings right form the BIOS.

Did you try seeing how far you could go with performance level (trc) at 7 and voltage at 2.1? I did all my testing without changing that. I noticed that you had to change trc to 9 and voltage to 2.1 in order to get 5-5-5-15 @ 558 MHz.

For overall performance, it seems that these kits probably run better at 5-5-5-12 and trc at 7...since loosening up tRAS to 15/18 or increasing trc to 8/9 doesn't allow you to bump up the DRAM too much.
Reply With Quote
  #74 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2008, 10:25 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Well I just got the DFI so I am still learning the BIOS. It is alot more complex than the ASUS boards but also alot better. I threw the mem in and it fired right up fine once I got the weird divider system figured out but I havent retested the max yet as I have been focusing on testing the HD3870 I just got and max FSB on E8400. Takes a while to find the best GTL combos and such.

I will post some mem results once I get to it, this weekend maybe.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #75 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2008, 04:11 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Eldonko, I noticed your tREF is super low compared to mine. I'm working on my bios settings vs. what Memset shows...

Here's a screen of my current settings at 533MHz RAM

EDIT:

Still no luck... I got my settings to match yours in every way possible... but no luck above 1066 MHz even at 2.08v (2.0v in bios)

I had high hopes for these sticks after seeing what they could do in your review... but I guess I got a "regular" pair...*sigh*
Attached Images
 
__________________
[SIZE=3]

Last edited by zlojack; February 27, 2008 at 04:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #76 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2008, 10:01 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

I didnt find tref effected stability at all so I just used the best performing one. You might get more out of em on a P35 board as well, those are known to be among the best for mem clocking.

Did you try different dividers? ie 2:3?
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #77 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2008, 10:05 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

I've tried just about every divider, setting lowered and raised FSB... loosened timings, tightened timings... nothing. They won't post higher than about 1066 at 2.1v. And even the 1066 isn't stable.. stuff's crapping out on me in Vista.

I think maybe my board doesn't like them.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #78 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2008, 11:16 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 82
Default

The 5:6 ratio is probably best if you're going to be using an E8400 at ~450 FSB. I got my best results with 5:6.

Also, try increasing performance level to 8 or 9, and tRTP to 5.
Reply With Quote
  #79 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2008, 09:35 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuckoholic View Post
The 5:6 ratio is probably best if you're going to be using an E8400 at ~450 FSB. I got my best results with 5:6.

Also, try increasing performance level to 8 or 9, and tRTP to 5.
I'll keep playing with it and see..
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #80 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2008, 08:03 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Winterpeg, MB
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Well I just got the DFI so I am still learning the BIOS. It is alot more complex than the ASUS boards but also alot better. I threw the mem in and it fired right up fine once I got the weird divider system figured out but I havent retested the max yet as I have been focusing on testing the HD3870 I just got and max FSB on E8400. Takes a while to find the best GTL combos and such.

I will post some mem results once I get to it, this weekend maybe.
What board did you get? I'm thinking about getting the DFI X38 board soon, just curious how far you can push these with your DFI board considering the options you are offered.
James
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800 Ultra - should I return it for Crossfire 3870's? zlojack Video Cards 20 December 11, 2007 01:11 PM
Which RAM should I get? OCZ ReaperX or Mushkin XP2 zlojack RAM 10 December 7, 2007 10:16 AM
Mushkin vs. G.Skill Kandorf RAM 2 September 18, 2007 02:45 PM