Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Member Reviews

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2008, 12:55 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Winterpeg, MB
Posts: 187
Default

I don't think my platnium sticks are going to go much over 450MHz, I need something that'll exceed 500MHz for my Yorkfield, as I want to run at at 4.5GHz, if that's even possible. Again, I need to see some reviews on this processor to get an idea of how much I can get out of it.
James
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2008, 08:00 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

I got a nice double package from NCIX.com today

Along with a bunch of my components for my water cooling build (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...-wc-build.html)

I got a nice new shiny set of:



I popped them in and set them up with the timings at 5-5-5-12 and lo and behold... a BSOD after about 5 minutes of booting

Time to start playing with the settings I guess and find some nice stable ones for my Maximus Formula so I can test these babies out!
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2008, 10:49 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 268
Default

The key to decent OCing with Powerchips is a high TRFC.

Believe me, it makes a massive difference.

My G.Skill 2x2 GB kit was stuck at DDR2-850 max with TRFC @ 42.
I used SPD timing for a bit, which set TRFC to 51, & i was hitting DDR2-1000, & haven't tried further.

Loosen it up to whatever you can on that mobo, & watch them fly :)
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2008, 07:23 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -n7- View Post
The key to decent OCing with Powerchips is a high TRFC.

Believe me, it makes a massive difference.

My G.Skill 2x2 GB kit was stuck at DDR2-850 max with TRFC @ 42.
I used SPD timing for a bit, which set TRFC to 51, & i was hitting DDR2-1000, & haven't tried further.

Loosen it up to whatever you can on that mobo, & watch them fly :)
Yeah... I'm waiting for a new bios for the Maximus Formula which will open up tRFC because right now the highest setting in bios is 42!!!
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2008, 01:31 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

You need around 52 trfc, try putting it on auto or u can adjust with memset.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2008, 01:35 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
You need around 52 trfc, try putting it on auto or u can adjust with memset.
I tried both.. .thing is, even with tRFC on auto it doesn't post.

I'm sure once the new bios happens things will be better.

Right now I have to leave everything on AUTO for it to post with the 500 FSB
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2008, 03:51 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

What divider you using? What vdimm? If you post your settings maybe I can help
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2008, 04:36 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Ok...here goes:

(I also got some from Mike over on the Mushkin Forums and still nothing)

Quote:
Extreme Tweaker
Ai Overclock Tuner : Manual
OC From CPU Level Up : AUTO
CPU Ratio Control : Manual
- Ratio CMOS Setting : 8
FSB Frequency : 500
FSB Strap to North Bridge : 400
PCI-E Frequency: 120
DRAM Frequency: DDR2- 1000
DRAM Command Rate : 2T
DRAM Timing Control: Manual
CAS# Latency : 5
RAS# to CAS# Delay : 5
RAS# Precharge : 5
RAS# ActivateTime : 12
RAS# to RAS# Delay : AUTO
Row Refresh Cycle Time : AUTO
Write Recovery Time : AUTO
Read to Precharge Time : AUTO

Read to Write Delay (S/D) : AUTO
Write to Read Delay (S) : AUTO
Write to Read Delay (D) : AUTO
Read to Read Delay (S) : AUTO
Read to Read Delay (D) : AUTO
Write to Write Delay (S) : AUTO
Write to Write Delay (D) : AUTO
DRAM Static Read Control: AUTO (Have tried with this on and still nothing)
Ai Clock Twister : AUTO
Transaction Booster : AUTO

CPU Voltage : 1.29
CPU PLL Voltage : 1.52
North Bridge Voltage : 1.61
DRAM Voltage : 2.00 (The MF overvolts by around 0.08-0.1v)
FSB Termination Voltage : 1.52
South Bridge Voltage : AUTO
Loadline Calibration : Enabled
CPU GTL Reference : 0.63x
North Bridge GTL Reference : 0.67x
DDR2 Channel A REF Voltage : AUTO
DDR2 Channel B REF Voltage : AUTO
DDR2 Controller REF Voltage : AUTO
SB 1.5V Voltage : AUTO

NB LED Selection : NB Volt
SB LED Selection : SB Volt
CPU LED Selection : CPU VOlt


CPU Spread Spectrum : Disabled
PCIE Spread Spectrum : Disabled

Advanced CPU Configuration
CPU Ratio Control : Manual
- Ratio CMOS Setting : 8.0
C1E Suppport : Disabled
CPU TM Function : Disabled
Vanderpool Technology : Disabled
Execute Disable Bit : Disabled
Max CPUID Value Limit : Disabled


USB Configuration
USB Functions: Enabled
Legacy USB Support : Disabled
It should also be noted that I couldn't get my OCZ ReaperX to post on anything other than AUTO either (probably due to the same limitation)
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2008, 04:51 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 268
Default

LOL!

Please don't tell me you think you can run your Q6600 @ 500 MHz?!?

You cannot run anywhere close to that with a quad on any current existing motherboard!

Set your stuff to 9x400 (i'm assuming you've determined that to be stable), & set the 4:5 divider.

Work up from there.


Or maybe try 8x450 5:6.

But you'll want to start lower, maybe around 8x425 5:6 with SPD.

Then see how far you can get.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2008, 05:50 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

Yeah man that is totally the issue, use 9x, 500fsb is too high.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800 Ultra - should I return it for Crossfire 3870's? zlojack Video Cards 20 December 11, 2007 01:11 PM
Which RAM should I get? OCZ ReaperX or Mushkin XP2 zlojack RAM 10 December 7, 2007 10:16 AM
Mushkin vs. G.Skill Kandorf RAM 2 September 18, 2007 02:45 PM