Go Back   Hardware Canucks > Mac, iPhone & iPod > Mac

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2014, 10:24 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 14
Default how to format and reinstall fresh when...

Hi All,

Quick question for you guys/gals...

I am not familiar with mac at all to say the least, but my gf has one..but the thing is, there is an admin password on it, which she doen't remember...sigh..., so she can't install software updates etc...also, while moving to my place, she lost the install cd.... which helps a lot I guess...re-sigh.....

She runs for the moment mac os x something...

Do you think that if I buy the lastest software @ a Apple computer shop I can bypass the admin password, format and re install ?

Any help is appreciated.
Thank you all !
Ceno
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2014, 10:43 AM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

someone will correct me if im wrong here please.

Try holding Control+R while you turn the computer on. keep holding it

Might be Command+R i can't remember try both
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2014, 10:45 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Birk View Post
someone will correct me if im wrong here please.

Try holding Control+R while you turn the computer on. keep holding it
Hi Birk !
thanks for the feedback....but what does it do while holding Control+R while I turn the computer on ?

Does it by pass everything ? (admin password) so i can format and re-install fresh ?

Please advise.
thank you
ceno
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2014, 10:47 AM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

it should open up a restore utility to format and reinstall OSX and such, on my macbook its kinda cool, even if you format the entire drive or install a new drive or otherwise dont have the restore partition it even downloads it automatically with internet connection.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2014, 10:52 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Birk View Post
it should open up a restore utility to format and reinstall OSX and such, on my macbook its kinda cool, even if you format the entire drive or install a new drive or otherwise dont have the restore partition it even downloads it automatically with internet connection.
Well that's nice !

I will give it a try tonight !
thank you VERY much Birk !
You rock !
Ceno
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2014, 10:10 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 14
Default

hi all,

i tried Birk' solutions:
Control+R
&
Command+R

while turning the computer on, but it did nothing, i ended up in front of the login session..

is there anything else I can try to do to solve this issue ?

thank you all for your tips
ceno
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2014, 04:18 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,960

My System Specs

Default

You need the installation disc/flash drive in order to do a password reset. Insert the install disc. Power up and hold down option. It will bring up the boot selection menu. Select the install disc. Once it boots to the disc. Go to the utility menu and select password reset.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2014, 10:34 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 14
Default

I went to the apple store to get some more info, I need to buy the install cd online and then process with a new install, which I wanted to do anyways.
thank you all for your help.
Ceno
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cant reinstall crysis 2?? Kamran1981 Gaming 3 June 27, 2011 04:11 AM
will any 32 bit win vista wok to reinstall win 32 oem on old hp slimeline johnnyblazzwa O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 May 9, 2011 01:54 PM
how to change the MB without having to reinstall windows ??? N.E.A CPU's and Motherboards 7 March 12, 2011 07:36 AM
Need to reinstall WMP 11 biff O/S's, Drivers & General Software 14 June 2, 2009 07:07 PM
Reinstall XP - 2nd HD issues Matty D Storage 22 November 27, 2008 09:58 AM