Go Back   Hardware Canucks > Mac, iPhone & iPod > Mac

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2013, 02:56 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default Hard Drive/Storage/ File location issue MBP

Hey guys, not that it really matters but I have a MBP I picked up a little over a year ago.
I'm not an OSX or Mac expert at all, I just use it for school cause I gotta use it for some production stuff.
Anyways, here's the issue:

It says I have about half my HDD capacity allocated with "other" files, but I have no idea what it could be, the music, photos, apps, movies, all make sense but I have no idea what "other" could be that's taking up half my HDD space.
For sure I don't have that many working files (from video and audio editing software/projects, cause I know those can take up a lot of space)
Is there any way to see what's in "other" ?
How embarassing lol

Thanks! I just wanna free up some space on my HDD.
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2013, 02:59 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,979

My System Specs

Default

Try this.
Disk Inventory X
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2013, 03:54 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

also forgot to mention I had Parallels installed at one point, but I read it shouldn't affect it since it's not like BootCamp and doesn't partition your drive?
lowfat - thanks I'll give it a try
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2013, 04:43 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

Thats probably your problem, parallels creates large files as a "virtual hard drive" for the software to read from, unless you manually removed them they're probably still there.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2013, 04:47 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

I deleted all my files from Parallels though including the "Parallels" folder in my "Documents" folder than apparently is where everything is stored from Parallels.
I honestly didn't have anywhere close to even 100GB of stuff on my Windows side when I did use it.
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2013, 06:50 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

lowfat - thanks, the app helped me clear a good amount. Still about 350GB unaccounted for... even with Disk Inventory, at most I'm using 300GB . Unless I really can't count.
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2013, 07:54 AM
Tech686239's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default

So this maybe a stupid question but have you emptied your Trash. The space doesn't show up until you emptied your trash. Also and i just tested this. I have a ton of media on my laptop. Apple only see .mp4's as movies. If you have TV shows and Movies in .AVI or .MKV's than that is going to be under other. Just thought i would mention this.

Hope you figure it out.
__________________
"Being fat isn't easy. Try putting on socks."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2013, 10:12 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

Yep, I always keep my trash empty.
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2013, 05:01 PM
ShinraCorp's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Gatineau
Posts: 488

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech686239 View Post
So this maybe a stupid question but have you emptied your Trash. The space doesn't show up until you emptied your trash. Also and i just tested this. I have a ton of media on my laptop. Apple only see .mp4's as movies. If you have TV shows and Movies in .AVI or .MKV's than that is going to be under other. Just thought i would mention this.

Hope you figure it out.
Meh it's not really a stupid question :P That's why I put up a 5% of my hard drive space is reserved for the recycle bin, if it's over 5% then it's perma deleted.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2013, 04:44 PM
p3t3rson's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Uxbridge, ON
Posts: 176
Default

I ran Parallels and the same happened to me. I found out after deleting Parallels (manually) that you need to use their uninstaller to properly uninstall and avoid this problem. Seeing as I hadn't used it from the start I had to completly reformat the HDD and reinstall OS X.

Last edited by p3t3rson; April 4, 2013 at 11:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD as boot drive Hard drive as storage Linus LinusTechTips Q&A 0 September 27, 2011 12:57 PM
Is there any sort of Hard drive storage unit out there? AERo Storage 5 January 29, 2010 12:28 PM
Wierd hard drive issue MrFoxx Storage 4 June 25, 2009 04:37 PM
sata hard drive formatting issue in XP sirhc Troubleshooting 28 October 9, 2008 12:37 PM