Go Back   Hardware Canucks > Mac, iPhone & iPod > Mac

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 24, 2011, 04:54 AM
Allstar

My System Specs

Default Best way to get a cheap MAC

So I work in IT support, but I've never really used a MAC before outside of some physics labs in University. I'm starting to get more and more house calls reguarding MAC computers, and I'm also seeing a lot more job adds saying familiarity with MAC computers is a requirement.

So I'm looking to get some kind of OSX based machine to mess around with and get more familar with. I see some macbooks on ebay and such for $300-400, but they're usually 2006 models with some problems.

Is there any other cheap ways of getting anything to play around with that has OSX?
Old November 24, 2011, 05:11 AM
F@H

My System Specs

The cheapest legal way really is buying a used Mac, more then likely a mac mini even. Beyond that you're looking at the illegal hackinstosh route that sometimes isn't that easy to pull off.
Old November 24, 2011, 05:16 AM
Allstar

My System Specs

Yeah I definitely want to go the offical route of getting into it. I never looked into Mac minis I'll check them out.
Old November 24, 2011, 12:57 PM
Allstar
F@H

Apple's online stores tend to have refurbished items as well (Which are also re-certified for AppleCare and will be under warranty). They tend to have some decent prices from time to time as well.
Here's the link:
Refurbished Mac Notebooks & Computers - iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, and Mac Pro Sale - Apple Store (Canada)
A Veteran, whether Regular Force, Reserve or Retired- is someone who, at one point in their life, wrote a blank cheque made payable to the Dominion of Canada for an amount of "Up to and including my life"
-Author Unknown
Old November 24, 2011, 04:29 PM
Allstar