Go Back   Hardware Canucks > Mac, iPhone & iPod > Mac

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2011, 03:58 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 952

My System Specs

Default Using old home files

Hi

Recently put a 60gb SSD in my friends macbook pro. The original drive is untouched other than popping it out and throwing it in an external unit. I cant seem to figure out how to get itunes and what not to use the existing data on the external. Or would I need to reformat the external and put a clean /home filestructure then load previous data?
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2011, 04:53 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,396

My System Specs

Default

I am only Guessing but I would think that since it is a Mac it would have to be formatted so that the MAC OS can see the drive becasue mac and Intel are totally different just like Linux and Intel are different
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2011, 06:19 PM
p3t3rson's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Uxbridge, ON
Posts: 176
Default

Can you see the drive in Finder?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2011, 04:28 AM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 952

My System Specs

Default

i can see the drive in the finder, but its showing up as an iDisk and when anyone tries to access the drive it asks for a mobile me login or some nonsense. So is it possible to use the old drive that has a fully intact OS with the data on it for the home folders and what not on the new ssd via usb? Or am I going to have to save the home folder and its data , format the drive (obviosly the right format) and put the home data back on it then try and direct the home folder location to external? I was able to import everything else except the home folder without incident.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2011, 04:50 PM
p3t3rson's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Uxbridge, ON
Posts: 176
Default

I am not 100% sure but I fairly certain you will need to connect the drive as a "server" in finder in order for that to work.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2011, 06:48 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 952

My System Specs

Default

Bit of an update. Bought a kit to mount a second drive where the optical was. The old filesystem and everything is intact and working still. Curious to how I can access the old drive and use it to install programs and save things to it.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2011, 07:39 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
I am only Guessing but I would think that since it is a Mac it would have to be formatted so that the MAC OS can see the drive becasue mac and Intel are totally different just like Linux and Intel are different
Has nothing to do with Mac or Intel or Linux.

Each OS uses its own filesystem... Windows is typically NTFS, Mac OS is usually HPFS and Linux is usually EXT3 or 4.

You'll need a utility in Windows to recognize HPFS file systems in order to read contents off the drive.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2011, 08:15 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,396

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Has nothing to do with Mac or Intel or Linux.

Each OS uses its own filesystem... Windows is typically NTFS, Mac OS is usually HPFS and Linux is usually EXT3 or 4.

You'll need a utility in Windows to recognize HPFS file systems in order to read contents off the drive.
That is what I meant actually I just couldn't think of the proper words hehe, kind of funny I can understand it deal with it but I can't explain it
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2011, 04:09 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 952

My System Specs

Default

The new SSD has Lion on it , while the old drive has Tiger system intact on it still. Id like to use the old home folders and what not for Lion install, and continue saving stuff there . No windows involved in this setup.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2011, 11:26 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 26
Default

There are a couple of guides on Mac sites on how to point your account to a home folder on a different drive: Moving the home folder off the boot drive Macsolvers' Blog

I'd be careful though, even though that technique worked fine if you're moving from Snow Leopard to Lion, not sure is it'll work for something as far back as Tiger.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
.rar files SGardiner O/S's, Drivers & General Software 17 July 7, 2011 04:05 AM
X-Files Blu Off Topic 15 May 26, 2011 05:57 PM
Batch files. encorp O/S's, Drivers & General Software 33 October 8, 2010 11:47 AM
Restoring files? Phobia O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 January 19, 2009 12:14 PM
Widescreen and avi files? bobaban Display Units 0 November 23, 2007 03:06 PM