Go Back   Hardware Canucks > Mac, iPhone & iPod > Mac

    
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2011, 06:30 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default Valve games won't lauch

Hey Guys, I am not much of a Mac person but I have a hackintosh and I cannot get any valve games to launch via steam. Other games launch fine and the valve games use to launch a while back but no longer. Any ideas on how to fix this? Thanks
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2011, 07:25 AM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 466

My System Specs

Default

Try verifying game integrity (should be an option in the game steam list properties) or delete the entire content of steam folder with the exception of the game folder and steam.exe (google this procedure)
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2011, 10:12 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

I tried all the normal routes. Verified cache, re-downloaded the game and even tried a full re-install of steam and games. Only the valve games won't launch.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2011, 08:19 PM
tianfeng's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 120

My System Specs

Default

check your firewall options. I have been having problems with valve games and it was my bitdefender firewall.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2011, 04:49 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

No firewall on the Hackintosh except for the built in one. I got it working but I am not sure how so consider this closed for now. Thanks everybody!
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Valve Announces Making Games is Hard; Delays Portal 2 SKYMTL Press Releases & Tech News 21 June 14, 2010 06:57 AM
FS: NDS lite package, PS3 games+accessories, PC games+accessories... 56k BEWARE snaggletooth Buy/Sell & Trade 9 November 25, 2009 09:21 PM
Problem with Valve games and SSD Varroa Troubleshooting 8 November 19, 2009 03:23 PM
I won, I won, I'm rich!!! Gellidius Off Topic 26 November 10, 2009 03:30 AM
ASUS Xonar settings for Valve games artistpavel Audio 2 July 8, 2009 06:31 PM