Go Back   Hardware Canucks > Mac, iPhone & iPod > Mac

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #101 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2010, 08:28 PM
m1dget's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Terrebonne, Qc
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
Most part are foxconn made and after spending the last few years of my last repairing computer ( including MAC ) MacPro and Imac and everything, the quality is just the same you will get with a DIY computer. Note here that I don't dislike apple I think they have good product but I just can't stand anymore beside people who keep saying they have better build quality. They answer is just no, they are the same part made by the same manufacturer. I remember a series of Imac 20 inch in late 2007 that was under a recall because of QUANTAS made board ( quantas make board for HP and other OEM for over 15 years now ). I say again, good product, good OS, nice look, but not better quality. The big Mac ( tower one ) I beleive they are Mac pro? I can't actually remember the exact name are make from more specifiq part from certain manufacturer like Asus and other big name but again you can have the exact same quality in your home pc.
Built like servers ==



You will never get that with a normal desktop machine.
__________________
"NIX is a classic example of security through obscurity because there is no real monetary reward for crackers and hackers to break Linix" -AkG
Reply With Quote
  #102 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2010, 09:26 PM
Neolithium_Wpg's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lancaster Park, Alberta
Posts: 732
Default

Midget - how many people on these forums go to BestBuy and purchase a prebuilt machine? 3....maybe 4? LOL. Of course the Mac Pro uses components that are different than your average desktop (even custom built) considering they only use Xeon Processors and ECC RAM (Quality is of course not guaranteed higher), which help give it a kick-in-the-nuts pricetag.
__________________
Dell XPS8700 | Asus x101ch | iPhone 5 (iOS7)
A Veteran, whether Regular Force, Reserve or Retired- is someone who, at one point in their life, wrote a blank cheque made payable to the Dominion of Canada for an amount of "Up to and including my life"
-Author Unknown
Reply With Quote
  #103 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2010, 09:18 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,812

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m1dget View Post
As much as I would like to agree with you that their keyboard is awesome it just can't beat my IBM Model M replica
I have a Model M (and a Steelseries 7G, which uses Cherry MX 'black' switches) as well. It is just to big. I have to have my right arm at a 30 degree angle since the keyboard is so effing large.
Reply With Quote
  #104 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2010, 12:29 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,525

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
The tiny keyboard is awesome. No way I will ever go back to a full sized keyboard. Being able to keep my mouse a few inches from the home row is great.
I quite like my chiclet kb that came with the mac tower. I get all kinds of comments on it too. It is much improved over all the previous grunge collectors that came with desktop macs.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #105 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2010, 01:32 PM
m1dget's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Terrebonne, Qc
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
I have a Model M (and a Steelseries 7G, which uses Cherry MX 'black' switches) as well. It is just to big. I have to have my right arm at a 30 degree angle since the keyboard is so effing large.
Well I use mine for coding off a terminal usually so the mouse is no big deal :P

I like cherry switch also... but I have a better feeling with all mechanical springs like the M. Though I think we can agree that mechanical > everything else :)
__________________
"NIX is a classic example of security through obscurity because there is no real monetary reward for crackers and hackers to break Linix" -AkG
Reply With Quote
  #106 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2010, 03:36 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,731
Default

Well so much for uncrashable.....

Installed iNTFS so that I could use my Western Digital 1TB USB2.0 HDD and it had a bloody fit.

Digging out the restore CD's......
Reply With Quote
  #107 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2010, 03:40 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,231

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digikid View Post
Well so much for uncrashable.....

Installed iNTFS so that I could use my Western Digital 1TB USB2.0 HDD and it had a bloody fit.

Digging out the restore CD's......
Is that officially licensed software???? ;)
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #108 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2010, 03:45 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,731
Default

Reply With Quote
  #109 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2010, 03:49 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,231

My System Specs

Default

See.... that's the difference between the X86 and Apple hardware/software model. Apple is a closed system for just this reason.... if it was a licensed product it wouldn't have crashed the OS.... ;)

Not taking sides on the matter, but there are benefits to both models.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #110 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2010, 03:55 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,731
Default

LOL!!!!!!!

Guess that I learned my lesson. Guess that I will have to move everything off of my E-HDD, reformat it to something that BOTH of my devices can use ( probably FAT32 ) and then move everything back.

Darn.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macs at McMaster University netforce Off Topic 45 April 10, 2009 02:50 PM