Go Back   Hardware Canucks > Mac, iPhone & iPod > Mac

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2010, 06:25 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default Does anybody really read this section...?

Well, if anybody makes it to this section, here are my confessions :

1. I just purchased an Iphone 3GS this past weekend, and so far, it's brilliant. I am truly amazed by the OS, the apps and the reception quality (with Bell as a carrier).

I must admit though that this is my first smart phone, so maybe if I had previous experiences with such devices I wouldn't be as flabbergasted!

I decided to pick it up since my mobile contract was expiring and hated using my LG Chocolat. Having a corporate account, I also have a killer monthly plan with bonus features!

2. I purchased Mac OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard) directly from Apple.

I learned that my PC's hardware is perfectly compatible with the OS, if I install with Empire EFI (I actually stumbled by mistake on a log of a guy who has it running great over at Anandtech).

I can't wait to get it and set it up. The system will be dual-boot (Vista & OS X).

These are interesting times indeed !
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2010, 06:36 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

oh no we lost another 1 to the dark-side ha ha . glad your happy with it
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2010, 06:54 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,664
Default

My main rig runs dual boot with Win 7 and OS X + Empire EFI. Works quite well actually and I avoided spending the premium for Apple-branded "it just works" hardware.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2010, 07:19 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
. Works quite well actually and I avoided spending the premium for Apple-branded "it just works" hardware.
this kind of clandestinity is not to remind me when we was buying clone part of Apple II

I just install the wireless connection of an Ipod the other day for the kid of my friend , dam I want some I product too they are very cool.

@less young : those grey market pieces was sold at the first and small Dumoulin store, I think it was on St-Denis. Ya pirated part was the first PC Dumoulin was selling . funny no
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2010, 07:19 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Good thing about the iPhone. Its not too bad, though I like my Pre for multitasking.

As for OSX, its a decent OS. I don't think its fantastic, or magical, but it does the job and I really don't worry much about malware or viruses, not that they're a problem for me on Windows anyway. Welcome.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2010, 07:23 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
My main rig runs dual boot with Win 7 and OS X + Empire EFI. Works quite well actually and I avoided spending the premium for Apple-branded "it just works" hardware.
Tell me about it: buying a quad-core with 4gb of ram costs a pretty penny in the Land of Apple...

I'll settle for installing OS X on my PC, put an Apple sticker on my sexy black Azza case and call it a day
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2010, 12:12 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,012

My System Specs

Default

I'm a recent half-Mac convert. Rebuilt my main rig into a Hackintosh runnin SL10.6.2 and it's almost vanilla -- only things driving me up the wall are : Can't change mouse sensitivity if you disable acceleration, lack of keyboard controls for Window management (equivalent of Windows ALT+SPACE, M, arrow keys, mouse), and no Win7 Aero snap.

Making everything work is a lot of fun and there is a goldmine of information at InsanelyMac.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2010, 12:38 PM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoob View Post
I'm a recent half-Mac convert. Rebuilt my main rig into a Hackintosh runnin SL10.6.2 and it's almost vanilla -- only things driving me up the wall are : Can't change mouse sensitivity if you disable acceleration, lack of keyboard controls for Window management (equivalent of Windows ALT+SPACE, M, arrow keys, mouse), and no Win7 Aero snap.

Making everything work is a lot of fun and there is a goldmine of information at InsanelyMac.
I don't follow - are you running Windows inside of Mac OSX using Bootcamp?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2010, 02:46 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Nice. Empire EFI certainly seems the way to go. I love tinkering... makes me want to see what hardware I have that is hackintosh compatible....
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2010, 02:59 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,731
Default

No we do not read this section and therefore this thread does not exist.

LOL!!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Section 8 headsh0t Gaming 3 August 31, 2009 08:48 PM
Problem trying to get 'Read Only' file not Read only! bushwickbill Troubleshooting 5 August 10, 2008 12:41 AM
Possible new sub section vintank Suggestions & Feedback 1 December 27, 2007 01:56 PM
DC section qwerty Suggestions & Feedback 6 December 9, 2007 09:35 AM
New Section ineedaname Suggestions & Feedback 0 December 4, 2007 06:52 AM