Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > LinusTechTips Q&A

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2012, 02:02 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 633

My System Specs

Default Best HDDs for home server?

I have been contemplating getting either a NAS or a home server for a while, and after watching a few of Linus's videos I have decided to go the home server route.

I have ordered a lot of the parts already and am going with a RAID6 setup with just 4 or 5 drives to start running from an adaptec 8 port raid card. Of course I will still make regular backups to an independent drive. Linus mentioned in his personal home server update video that he was planning to run seagate 3tb drives because the WD drives aren't ideal for RAID, but did he mean the barracudas or the enterprise drives?

The enterprise drives are ridiculously expensive so I am looking for a lower cost but still reliable alternative.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2012, 03:40 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,588
Default

he meant the green drives I think, and I think they're just fine for RAID, you just have to modify the head parking time from it's default of 7 or 8 seconds or whatever. I use four greens just fine.

Also with 4 - 5 drives, why not just RAID5? You're going to lose a lot of space with RAID6
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2012, 06:35 PM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 551
Default

+1 for RAID 5, if you start running 8 drives even then I personally would suggest breaking it into 2 RAID 5 arrays. No technical reason really, just personal preference on manageability.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2012, 12:33 AM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 633

My System Specs

Default

I lost a bunch of data twice, years ago so I am currently running 2 individual RAID1 arrays for storage. 2x2TB WD greens each(headparking and spindown disabled), so Raid 6 with 5+ drives will actually be more efficient than what I have. I haven't had any drive failures in the 3 years I've been running this array, but still, I don't mind 1 extra drive for a bit more piece of mind. Just not sure which drives to go with. 5+ drives is a reasonably heavy investment so I want to get it right the first time around.

Actually, my docs and pics are on my primary SSD, which backs up to one of my raids, which backs up to an external drive.. paranoid much? haha
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2012, 01:16 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 741
Default

dustin did you also turn on TLER on the WD Green drives?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2012, 01:32 AM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 633

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moocow View Post
dustin did you also turn on TLER on the WD Green drives?
Yeah I did. I have one set of the older WD20EARS which was simple, but my other set is the newer WD20EADS which had to be flashed to a different firmware to enable TLER.

No problems so far and they are very quiet, but I only get sustained transfer speeds of ~65MB/s in RAID1. I've been reading the WHS2011 forums and I've read a lot about people losing their whole raid5/raid 6 arrays after updates, reboots, power surges etc... and it has me scared. I'm now thinking about going with seagate barracuda 3TB drives in RAID1. A colossal waste, but safe.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2012, 01:36 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 741
Default

I had 7200.11 and .12 drives in my 3Ware 9xxx 12 port and they all died. I'm too scared to use non ES stuff from Seagate now. Have anyone checked out Hitachi Deskstart 7K1000 series? They are listed as tested with my 3ware card (up to the old SATA2).
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2012, 01:40 AM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 633

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moocow View Post
I had 7200.11 and .12 drives in my 3Ware 9xxx 12 port and they all died. I'm too scared to use non ES stuff from Seagate now. Have anyone checked out Hitachi Deskstart 7K1000 series? They are listed as tested with my 3ware card (up to the old SATA2).
7200.11 is one of the drives that made me the paranoid maniac I am today. I was a bit curious when Linus said he was planning to use SG 3TB drives in his personal server...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2012, 07:56 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 982
Default

Im staying far away from Seagate drives. I've run into another firmware issue with some Dell machines that have Seagate drives. If you are that paranoid just bite the bullet and get the WD enterprise drives and be done with it.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2012, 09:58 AM
crazyea's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Surrey, BC
Posts: 167

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dustin1706 View Post
Yeah I did. I have one set of the older WD20EARS which was simple, but my other set is the newer WD20EADS which had to be flashed to a different firmware to enable TLER.

No problems so far and they are very quiet, but I only get sustained transfer speeds of ~65MB/s in RAID1. I've been reading the WHS2011 forums and I've read a lot about people losing their whole raid5/raid 6 arrays after updates, reboots, power surges etc... and it has me scared. I'm now thinking about going with seagate barracuda 3TB drives in RAID1. A colossal waste, but safe.

I think its the other way around.

I have an older EADS and 3 Newer EARS drives.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone familiar with enterprise/server HDDs? Opinions? markn951 Storage 5 June 20, 2011 01:28 PM
First home server leland459 New Builds 4 June 13, 2011 11:39 AM
WIP Home File Server - Modding Rack mount Server Chassis CoolHandL Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 24 December 22, 2010 12:37 PM
Anyone is using Home Server dataxpert O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 April 30, 2009 04:53 PM
Home Server Phobia O/S's, Drivers & General Software 19 September 28, 2008 09:22 AM