Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > LinusTechTips Q&A

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2012, 12:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 19
Question Good build or bottlenecked?

Hey guys, planning on building this new spec soon, i think i might wait for the 670, just to see how much it will be in the UK, but ill proly go fr the 680 anyway. The main game ill be playing is Guildwars 2, and although i know it wont need the best things i can find to through at it, like the 680, im building a PC to last. The spec i have so far is.

https://www.aria.co.uk/WishList/KPAGTqguBr_cXMCqm084Dg,,


How does that look? Ignore the 3 h100's lol...just 1 =p
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2012, 01:03 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 950

My System Specs

Default

Everything there seems to be in order, solid looking build. Dont forsee any issues with that setup myself.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2012, 03:50 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,002

My System Specs

Default

Looks good. The gtx 670 will likely give you better bang for buck once released. From what I have read so far its performance will not be much behind the 680. Whether you go for the 670 or 680 you will have a very nice setup, so in the end its your call with if the extra few FPS are worth the extra few quid.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2012, 03:55 PM
Apathetik's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 310

My System Specs

Default

Don't waste money on ram over 1600MHz .. there is zero real world gains in gaming. Everything else looks great though!
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2012, 06:17 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 19
Default Thanks:)

Thanks guys =) Nice reply :) Never used this forum before, but that was a quick response =)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2012, 06:18 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 438

My System Specs

Default

1600 with timings 0f 9,9,9,25 or better
and just a suggestion, if you do go corsair go HX or AX, not TX or CX, 750 is ample by all means, however, voltage regulation and such is quite a bit better on the HX and AX. Or you could also opt for something from the seasonic, XFX and such power supplies, there is plenty of good, not to expensive power supplies out there without having to sink to a "mid grade" the rest of your parts are top notch, why not go something a little better in the power supply department(at least higher on the totem pole?)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2012, 06:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 19
Default

Thanks guys =)

Last edited by xvl89; May 10, 2012 at 07:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2012, 09:34 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Beter take something that supports SLI becouse MSI Z77A-G45 does not ?
If you decide in near future that you want another card :)
I would anyway, your choice.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2012, 10:12 PM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,255

My System Specs

Smile Good Build

As another member said, go modular for your psu, easier to work with, better air flow through the case as well.

Swap the SSD for a Vertex,love Mushkin ram though, so I would recommend those or G Skills. Don't know about now, but I found Corsair ram to be a bit pricier than most. As long as they're lifetime

warranty though, whatever you like.

Enjoy the build and resulting system!!! Should keep you smiling for a while.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2012, 11:42 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,825

My System Specs

Default

Not checked all the parts but scan.co.uk has that 670 for £20 less.. though some other parts are 1 or 2 £ more.. Worth looking at scans bundles too though..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
custom gaming pc

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gtx 690 and my old tower; bottlenecked? elimtl Video Cards 12 May 2, 2012 07:13 AM
is this build good? neo678123 New Builds 3 January 22, 2012 06:11 PM
dual 5850 bottlenecked by x6 1055t? Cazushio Video Cards 1 November 2, 2011 05:09 AM
what type of setting will my budget pc play and will this be bottlenecked by antyhing mrperfect1995 New Builds 2 November 1, 2011 10:49 PM
9800GTX from EVGA get bottlenecked by my CPU? C_O_N Video Cards 26 April 16, 2009 11:26 PM