Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > LinusTechTips Q&A

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2012, 07:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11
Default SSD as boot drive. is 60GB large enought??

Hello all,

Looking to boot my os (win 7 ult. 64bit) from an ssd

Would an intel 520 series ssd '60GB' been large enough?

everything else (games etc) will come off a dedicated hdd or an additional Ssd

cheers guys
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2012, 07:45 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,141

My System Specs

Default

I started off using a 60GB as my boot drive, migrated to a 100GB, and now use a 240GB.

Strictly speaking, your windows installation should be under 20 GB. But you'll find that once you use a SSD, load times become excruciating when using a HDD. Buy all the size you can afford.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2012, 06:15 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,633

My System Specs

Default

I have a Win7 install on a 30GB SSD some programs and still have 9GB left. On the 60GB SSD I have Win7 also, a few programs and a game, (NFSHP2010 which is like 5-6 GB installed) and still have 20GB left. 60GB is plenty for a Windows7 install and a game or 2.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2012, 07:18 AM
Jebusman's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 358

My System Specs

Default

Figure out what games you're going to be playing the most. If there's a particular game that you'll be going back to often enough, it's best to put it on the SSD. 60GB is more than enough to hold a game or two on top of Windows (depending on the game of course).
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2012, 10:09 AM
Alpine's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boucherville / South shore of MTL
Posts: 873

My System Specs

Default

I have a 60bg ssd for my windows and few apps and still have like 20g of space on it. All games are installed on a HDD.
__________________
• ► ›Main system
• ► › |I7 3930K|Asus P9X79 WS|Evga GTX 690 Signature|Samsung 256G Pro|Corsair H100|Dominator Platinium 16GB 2133Mhz|
Corsair AX1200|Corsair 540 AIR|Corsair SP2500|Corsair Vengeance 2000|
• ► ›Server system
• ► › |I7 3820|Asus P9X79|12G G.Skill 1600Mhz|Noctua NH-D14|Corsair Force 3 120GB|LSI megaRAID 9261 8|RAID5 5X 3TB|Corsair AX650|Fractal Design Arc Midi|

• ► ›Twitch
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2012, 10:41 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11
Default

thanks for the responses,

Game wise i will be playing and storing shogun 2 total war and mount and blade warband and the older totalwar games
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2012, 11:13 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shogunsilly View Post
thanks for the responses,

Game wise i will be playing and storing shogun 2 total war and mount and blade warband and the older totalwar games
To many games, grab at least an 80GB, or you will have the 60GB stuffed full in a couple days.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2012, 11:30 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11
Default

what about 60Gb boot drive and 180Gb - 240Gb to store my game etc, does this sounds better?

Money wise, im putting it all on a cred card interest free for a while + want to have my new built for 4-5+ years so dont want to skimp on price and regret it or make more work for myself in the near future.

decided on this build, parts on the way:

Case: carbide 500r case (Using noctua nf-12 120mm fans to replace stock)
CPU: i7 2600k
CPU COOLER: corsair h100 cpu cooler (again noctua cooling for radiator, push-pull config)
RAM: corsair veng 16Gb ram (1600Mhz)
PSU: corsair 850w gold
GPU: sapphire 7950 oc
MOBO: Looking between an Asus p8-vpro or a Sabertooth (both z77)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2012, 11:36 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

I would grab a 240GB if you want it to last 4-5 years, there are 2 review unit SSD's for sale in thefor sale thread, a few hours usage on them, one is a 240GB patriot pyro, the other is an OCZ octane 512GB.
Quote:
Originally Posted by shogunsilly View Post
what about 60Gb boot drive and 180Gb - 240Gb to store my game etc, does this sounds better?

Money wise, im putting it all on a cred card interest free for a while + want to have my new built for 4-5+ years so dont want to skimp on price and regret it or make more work for myself in the near future.

decided on this build, parts on the way:

Case: carbide 500r case (Using noctua nf-12 120mm fans to replace stock)
CPU: i7 2600k
CPU COOLER: corsair h100 cpu cooler (again noctua cooling for radiator, push-pull config)
RAM: corsair veng 16Gb ram (1600Mhz)
PSU: corsair 850w gold
GPU: sapphire 7950 oc
MOBO: Looking between an Asus p8-vpro or a Sabertooth (both z77)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2012, 11:38 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

If you store your games on HDD then you'll be fine with the 60GB ssd (will be slower for things stored on HDD). I have an older 80GB ssd for steam games, another 80GB ssd for my origin games, and then a vertex 3 120GB ssd for the windows and whatever needs to be installed there: such as more games. Build looks good though.

edit: What about using a smaller ssd for caching?
__________________

Last edited by dandelioneater; May 4, 2012 at 11:40 AM. Reason: i dunno
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] SSD drive over 60GB yamawho Buy/Sell & Trade 0 February 22, 2012 06:50 PM
Installing a SSD boot drive and keeping pre-existing drive as it was??? Painbringer71 Storage 4 November 22, 2011 04:55 PM
I have a 60GB SSD - Can I install everything to my storage drive by default? Linus LinusTechTips Q&A 3 October 7, 2011 05:25 PM
SSD as boot drive Hard drive as storage Linus LinusTechTips Q&A 0 September 27, 2011 01:57 PM